TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Johnson v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

DOROTHY B. JOHNSON, Plaintiff-Appellant, v. STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant-Appellee

Johnson v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins., 396 N.E.2d 1190 (Ill. App. Ct. 1979)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Appellate Court of Illinois · State Appellate Courts
Decided
October 24, 1979
Docket
No. 78-1649
Judges
Rizzi
Citations
396 N.E.2d 119078 Ill. App. 3d 14433 Ill. Dec. 4661979 Ill. App. LEXIS 3517

Opinion — Rizzi

Mr. JUSTICE RIZZI delivered the opinion of the court:

Plaintiff, Dorothy Johnson, brought this action to recover damages for the failure of defendant, State Farm Mutual Insurance Company, to make payments pursuant to the medical payments provision of an insurance policy issued by defendant. The trial court granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment and plaintiff appeals. We affirm.

On August 15, 1974, plaintiff was injured in an automobile accident, suffering a nasal fracture and lacerations of the nose. At that time, plaintiff was insured under an automobile insurance policy issued by defendant. The policy contained a medical payments provision, subject to a $5,000 limit, which stated that defendant agreed:

“To pay reasonable medical expenses incurred for services furnished within one year from the date of accident: To or for the first person named in the declaration and, if a resident of his household, his spouse and any relative of either who sustains bodily injury, caused by accident (1) while occupying the owned motor vehicle * ° (Emphasis added.)

As a result of the accident, plaintiff was hospitalized for two days, during which time she first saw Dr. A. Badri, a plastic surgeon. When plaintiff saw Dr. Badri in March 1975, he recommended surgery; however, he told plaintiff that her nose would “have to settle” for at least a year after the accident. Following this visit, plaintiff informed a State Farm representative that additional surgery was likely but would have to be postponed until the scar tissue healed.

Plaintiff made an appointment to see another plastic surgeon, Dr. Lotter, on August 14, 1975. Due to a previous business engagement, she had to cancel this appointment. Plaintiff scheduled another appointment for the next available date, and surgery was performed by Dr. Lotter on September 4,1975. Plaintiff submitted the medical bills for this surgery to defendant, but defendant refused to pay the claim because the services were not furnished within the one-year limit specified in the policy.

The sole issue presented here is whether the trial court properly granted summary judgment in favor of defendant because plaintiff’s expenses for the September 4 surgery were not “incurred for services furnished within one year from the date of accident.” Plaintiff urges this court to accept the interpretation some courts have given to the term “incurred.” (See, e.g., Farr v. Travelers Indemnity Co. (1975), 84 Misc. 2d 189 , 375 N.Y.S.2d 229 ; Perullo v. Allstate Insurance Co. (1967), 54 Misc. 2d 303 , 282 N.Y.S.2d 830 ; Whittle v. Government Employees Insurance Co. (1966), 51 Misc. 2d 498 , 273 N.Y.S.2d 442 ; Valladares v. Monarch Insurance Company (La. App. 1973), 282 So. 2d 569 .) These cases involve insurance policies which cover “reasonable expenses incurred within one year from the date of accident.” These courts have interpreted “incurred” in this context to include certain expenses for services rendered beyond the one-year time limit.

The present case is different than the cases relied upon by plaintiff. Here, the language in the policy is clear and unambiguous in limiting liability to “services furnished within one year from the date of accident.” When an insurance policy is unambiguous, the intent of the parties is determined from the language of the agreement. (Mollihan v. Stephany (1977), 52 Ill. App. 3d 1034, 1039 , 368 N.E.2d 465, 469 ; Dawes Laboratories v. Commercial Insurance Co. (1974), 19 Ill. App. 3d 1039, 1048 , 313 N.E.2d 218, 224 .) Clear and unambiguous words are given their plain and ordinary meaning. (Weiss v. Bituminous Casualty Corp. (1974), 59 Ill. 2d 165, 170, 171 , 319 N.E.2d 491, 495 ; Jenkins v. State Security Insurance Co. (1978), 56 Ill. App. 3d 737, 742 , 371 N.E.2d 1203, 1206 .) If the agreement does not violate a law or public policy, the parties to an insurance contract may limit liability, and the plain language of that limitation must be given effect. (Gray v. Great Central Insurance Co. (1972), 4 Ill. App. 3d 1084, 1085, 1086 , 283 N.E.2d 261, 263 .) In the instant case, the language of the limitation is clear and unambiguous and, therefore, must be given effect. In order to recover under the policy, the services themselves must be furnished within one year from the date of accident.

In the cases relied upon by the plaintiff, the policies covered “reasonable expenses incurred within one year from the date of accident” without any stated requirement that the services be furnished within that year. We do not decide the effect of such a provision in a proper case, but that provision is clearly distinguishable from the one involved in the present case. The parties in this case agreed, in clear and unambiguous terms, to limit liability under the medical payments coverage to expenses incurred for services furnished within one year from the date of accident. The agreement must be enforced as written. The trial judge, therefore, properly granted summary judgment in favor of defendant.

Accordingly, the judgment of the trial court is affirmed.

Affirmed.

SIMON, P. J, and McNAMARA, J, concur.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

Cited by 10 cases

View all citing references →
1979: 11980: 11981: 21984: 21990: 21993: 11999: 119792026peak 1981 · 2

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. SCOTTISH & YORK INTERN. v. Comet Cas. Co.566 N.E.2d 477 (Ill. App. Ct. 1990)
  2. Southern Baptist Hospital v. Golden Rule Insurance Co.628 So. 2d 142 (La. Ct. App. 1993)
  3. Collins v. Farmers Insurance Exchange61 F. Supp. 2d 1124 (D. Nev. 1999)
  4. Management Support Associates v. Union Indemnity Insurance473 N.E.2d 405 (Ill. App. Ct. 1984)
  5. Man. Sup. Assoc. v. Union Indem. Ins.473 N.E.2d 405 (Ill. App. Ct. 1984)
  6. Ohio Casualty Insurance Co. v. Tyler407 N.E.2d 77 (Ill. App. Ct. 1980)

Most recent

  1. Collins v. Farmers Insurance Exchange61 F. Supp. 2d 1124 (D. Nev. 1999)
  2. Southern Baptist Hospital v. Golden Rule Insurance Co.628 So. 2d 142 (La. Ct. App. 1993)
  3. SCOTTISH & YORK INTERN. v. Comet Cas. Co.566 N.E.2d 477 (Ill. App. Ct. 1990)
  4. Scottish & York International Insurance Group v. Comet Casualty Co.566 N.E.2d 477 (Ill. App. Ct. 1990)
  5. Man. Sup. Assoc. v. Union Indem. Ins.473 N.E.2d 405 (Ill. App. Ct. 1984)
  6. Management Support Associates v. Union Indemnity Insurance473 N.E.2d 405 (Ill. App. Ct. 1984)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 9

DepthCaseCited by
Weiss v. Bituminous Cas. Corp., 319 N.E.2d 491 (Ill. 1974) 48
Dawe's Lab'ys, N. v. v. Commercial Ins. Co. of Newark, 313 N.E.2d 218 (Ill. App. Ct. 1974) 28
Mollihan v. Stephany, 368 N.E.2d 465 (Ill. App. Ct. 1977) 21
Whittle v. Gov't Employees Ins., 51 Misc. 2d 498 (1966) 15
Jenkins v. State Sec. Ins. Co., 371 N.E.2d 1203 (Ill. App. Ct. 1978) 10
Farr v. Travelers Indem. Co., 84 Misc. 2d 189 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1975) 9
Gray v. Great Cent. Ins., 283 N.E.2d 261 (Ill. App. Ct. 1972) 8
Perullo v. Allstate Ins., 54 Misc. 2d 303 (1967) 6
Valladares v. Monarch Ins. Co., 282 So. 2d 569 (La. Ct. App. 1973) 24

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list