TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

National Life & Accident Insurance v. Threlkeld

National Life & Accident Insurance Company v. Threlkeld

Nat'l Life & Accident Ins. v. Threlkeld, 70 S.W.2d 851 (Ark. 1934)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Supreme Court of Arkansas · State Highest Courts
Decided
April 30, 1934
Docket
No. 4-3431
Judges
Kirby
Citations
70 S.W.2d 851189 Ark. 1651934 Ark. LEXIS 169

Opinion of the Court — Kirby

Kirby, J., (after stating the facts). Appellant insists that the policy of insurance was avoided because the insured in his application therefor wilfully and knowingly made misrepresentations with the intent to deceive the company as to his physical condition. There is no evidence here, however, directly tending to show any such representations, or that such misrepresentations had been wilfully and knowingly made as to his physical condition. Three witnesses, two of them disinterested, testified that insured was in apparent good health both at the time the application for insurance was made and at the time of the delivery of the policy; that the insured weighed at that time from 165 to 170 pounds. The agent of the company who delivered the policy also stated that insured was in apparent good health at that time.

A misrepresentation will not avoid the policy unless wilfully or knowingly made with intent to deceive. Wilbon v. Washington Fidelity National Ins. Co., 182 Ark. 57 , 29 S. W. (2d) 680 ; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Johnson, 105 Ark. 101 , 150 S. W. 393 .

The burden was upon appellant to show that false and material representations, which induced the issuance of the policy, were made to it by the insured knowingly and wilfully and with the intent to deceive the insurer; but appellant not only failed to discharge the burden, but the preponderance of the testimony appears to support the proposition that insured was in good health at the time of the making of the application and the delivery of the policy.

No error was committed in excluding the testimony of Helen Robinson of the general hospital and Elizabeth Kellogg of the county hospital about the records of deceased in both these hospitals. Both testified that they were merely custodians of the records in the respective hospitals; that the records were made by the doctors and nurses; and that their duty consisted in placing them in the files. No reason was given why the doctors and nurses were not able to testify, and they were the proper parties to do so, and the records were properly excluded. The excluded evidence, if admitted, would have been merely cumulative, to the testimony of Drs. May and Whitehead, whose testimony was introduced, and would have served merely to bolster it up. If the records were admissible, they should have been introduced by the parties who made them, so that appellee could have the opportunity to cross-examine the witnesses upon the items therein. Roberson v. Roberson, 188 Ark. 1018 , 69 S. W. (2d) 275 .

The waiver signed by the insured, relative to the production of testimony by physicians and nurses, did not remove tlje restrictions imposed upon the above witnesses under § 4149, Crawford & Moses’ Digest, since they were neither physicians nor nurses and made no records of any kind in the case.

There is no testimony or evidence showing that the insured knew that he. had tuberculosis before making the application and receiving the policy from appellant company; and it was a question for the jury to determine whether fraud was practiced on the appellee in securing the release, and same has been decided against the appellant. Harper v. Bankers’ Reserve Life Co., 185 Ark. 1082 , 51 S. W. (2d) 526 .

The settlement was obtained by taking the beneficiary by surprise and requiring her to act at once, without having the. policy in her possession or learning' its provisions and without an opportunity to take legal advice or ascertain the facts. Order of Commercial Travellers v. McAdam, 125 Fed. 358 , 61 C. C. A. 22 .

The case was submitted under instructions to which there were no objections; the testimony is amply sufficient to support the verdict; and, finding no error in the record, the judgment is affirmed.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1936: 11937: 21940: 11943: 11950: 11958: 119362026peak 1937 · 2

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Southern National Insurance Co. v. Heggie174 S.W.2d 931 (Ark. 1943)
  2. Federal Life Insurance v. Hase102 S.W.2d 841 (Ark. 1937)
  3. Shearman Concrete Pipe Co. v. Wooldridge234 S.W.2d 382 (Ark. 1950)
  4. CITIZENS COACH COMPANY v. Wright313 S.W.2d 94 (Ark. 1958)
  5. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance v. Ramey140 S.W.2d 701 (Ark. 1940)
  6. Progressive Life Insurance v. Preston105 S.W.2d 549 (Ark. 1937)

Most recent

  1. CITIZENS COACH COMPANY v. Wright313 S.W.2d 94 (Ark. 1958)
  2. Shearman Concrete Pipe Co. v. Wooldridge234 S.W.2d 382 (Ark. 1950)
  3. Southern National Insurance Co. v. Heggie174 S.W.2d 931 (Ark. 1943)
  4. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance v. Ramey140 S.W.2d 701 (Ark. 1940)
  5. Progressive Life Insurance v. Preston105 S.W.2d 549 (Ark. 1937)
  6. Federal Life Insurance v. Hase102 S.W.2d 841 (Ark. 1937)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 5

DepthCaseCited by
Order of United Commercial Travelers v. McAdam, 125 F. 358 (8th Cir. 1903) 20
Metro. Life Ins. v. Johnson, 150 S.W. 393 (Ark. 1912) 18
Harper v. Bankers' Reserve Life Co., 51 S.W.2d 526 (Ark. 1932) 10
Roberson v. Roberson, 69 S.W.2d 275 (Ark. 1934) 5
Wilbon v. Wash. Fid. Nat'l Ins., 29 S.W.2d 680 (Ark. 1930) 4

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list