TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Brown v. Mass. M. L. Ins.

Brown, Adm'r, v. the Mass. M. L. Ins. Co.

Brown v. Mass. M. L. Ins., 59 N.H. 298 (1879)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Supreme Court of New Hampshire · State Highest Courts
Decided
December 5, 1879
Judges
Foster, Dob, Stanley, Bingham, Smith, Clark, Allen
Citations
59 N.H. 298
Headnotes
A motion for a nonsuit, not made until the evidence is closed on both sides, and not objected to by the plaintiff on that ground, will be regarded as seasonably made. By signing an application for and accepting a policy of life insurance, a party must be held to have had notice of and to have agreed to the terms and conditions contained in the application and the policy. A party accepting a receipt for money paid, which he knew he had not paid, cannot set it up as an estoppel against the party giving'it. In the absence of any express authority or ratification by the company, an insurance agent has no authority to waive payment of any part of the premium. Where, by the terms of a policy of life insurance, it is provided that no. agent shall make any contract binding the company, or alter or change any condition of the policy, an agent cannot bind the company by accepting less than the whole of a premium in payment of it, against an express stipulation in the policy that the advance premium should be paid during the lifetime of the assured. A principal cannot be held responsible for acts of his agent, beyond the apparent scope of his authority, which he has never ratified, and of which he has never had any actual knowledge. A business arrangement between the company and its agents, by which it charged the advance premiums to them when it issued the policies, is not a payment of the premiums, in the absence of any understanding between the agents and the assured that it should be considered a§ a payment. A premium note is not delivered, so as to bind the company, while it is held in the hands of a third party, to whom the assured gave it to carry to the agent.
Summary
Assumpsit, on a policy of life insurance, No. 36,232, dated December 31, 1874, for $1,000, on the life of R. B., which was delivered to the plaintiff as the agent of his son, R. B., by Hodgdon, an agent of the defendants. The receipt for the first premium, of cash $61.20, plus loan note for $30 = $91.20, was also delivered with the policy. The plaintiff offered in evidence another policy, No. 32,036, dated September 10, 1872, from the defendants to R. B., the delivery of which was proved; and also the delivery of another similar one, of the same date, from the defendants to the plaintiff’s son, N. B. The annual premium payable on No. 32,036, by its terms, was cash $29.12, plus semi-annual payment $29.12, plus loan note $28=$86.24. The plaintiff testified,' — “I had dealings with Butler. He wanted to insure my two sons in this company, and I made an agreement Avith him, in 1872, to insure them for $50 every six months, and the loan notes. I paid him $50, and received from him this policy, No. 32,08G. After that I received a notice, and also this letter from Merrill, dated April 12, 1878. I Avent to Hodgdon, and told him I had been Avronged by Butler. He said he knew all about that. I told him 1 wanted my money back, but would be satisfied with $25. He said they didn’t pay any money back, but if I would take neAv policies for the boys, the first six months premium 1 had paid Butler should pay the first six months premium on new one, but after six months I should pay more than $50. I agreed to it December 25, 1874. The boys were to be examined again. 11. B. died March 15, 1875.” Merrill, the general agent of the defendants in Portland, by letter to the plaintiff, acknowledged the receipt of his letter of April 10, stated the amount of premiums to be paid on the policies of 1872, and said he Avould investigate the matter, and if Butler had misrepresented matters, would discharge him at once. Ilodgdon testified (in a deposition introduced by the defendants) that in December, 1874, the plaintiff told him that his tAVO boys were insured in this company; that the transaction Avas not satisfactory, and lie Avanted to get out and get his money back. “1 told him that at that date those policies had no value, but if lie would take new policies on his sous I would allow him something out of the first year’s commissions towards paying the first premiums on the neAv policies. * * * The agreement was, that they were to pay me the cash premiums on these policies, less $50, at the time of their next settlement at Mr. Sawyer’s, where they worked. I told them that this $50 would amount to more than my first commissions, but that I would arrange this through Edgerly, the general agent of the company.” A Avitness, called by the plaintiff, testified, — “ 1 had some knowledge of Hodgdon’s Avay of doing his insurance business as agent of this company. When he insured me, he gave me credit and made deductions; he gave me credit for as long a time as I needed it; he deducted his commissions, and gave me policy and receipt for premium. He also gave credit to my brother. 1 paid the premium for him, sixty to ninety days after date of policy. I also heard conversation between Hodgdon and Mallon of Exeter. Hodgdon offered to give him what time he wanted, to induce him to insure. He made the same offer to Towle of Exeter. He frequently requested me to help him get people to be insured, and said lie Avould give credit if necessary.” The application signed by It. B., written by Hodgdon, and dated December 25, 1874, contained the following stipulations: “And it is hereby covenanted and agreed that *' * * if any violation of any covenant, condition, or restriction of the said policy shall occur on the part of the party or parties signing this application, then the said policy shall be null and void. * * * “ That the officers of the said company, at the home office of the said company, in Springfield, Mass., alone shall have authority to determine whether or not a pqlicy of insurance shall be issued on this or any application, or whether or not any insurance shall take effect under this or any application. * * * “And it is hereby further agreed, that under no circumstances shall the policy be in force until the first premium, as stated in this policy, shall have been paid, during the lifetime of the said party whose life is hereby proposed for insurance, to the company, or to an agent duly authorized by the company to receive payments of premiums; and that no premium or instalment of premium shall be considered as paid unless a receipt shall have been given therefor, at the time of payment, duly signed by the secretary or president of the said company.” The policy contained the following: “ This policy is issued and accepted upon the following express conditions * * *: This policy shall not take effect until the advance premium hereon shall have been paid during the lifetime of the person whose life is hereby insured. No premium or instalment of premium hereon shall be considered as paid unless a receipt shall have been given therefor at the time of payment, duly signed by the president or ■ secretary of the said company * * *. No agent of the company shall make any contract binding the company, nor alter or change any condition of this policy, nor waive forfeiture of this policy.” At the time of the agreement made by the plaintiff and Hodgdon, in December, 1874, the policies of 1872, which the plaintiff had obtained from Butler, if ever valid, had lapsed, and were of no'value. No money was ever paid to the defendants or any of their agents, by the plaintiff or his sons, except the sum paid to ■Butler. The loan note of $30, which the policy in suit required to be given, was never given to the defendants, nor tendered during the life of R. B. The plaintiff testified that Hodgdori gave it to him, and told him to get E. B. to sign it, and to bring it up any time; that he carried it home, where E. B. signed it; and that the plaintiff carried it after E. B.’s death to Hodgdon, who refused to take it. On cross-examination, M. V. B. Edgerly, the general agent of the defendants in New Hampshire, testified, — “I made the settlements of the company with Hodgdon. The usage was to send policy, and receipt for advance premium ($91.20 in this case), to him, and charge the premium to him. He sent me every month his account, and the balance in his hands after deducting liis commissions and compensation. When a policy was returned, he would be credited with the premium that had been charged to him. Sometimes he was short. I must have received this policy (No. 36,232) and receipt from him, and sent it to the company, before March 31, 1875. There were no allowances or deductions made to him, to my knowledge, for premiums not paid by the insured.” The defendants moved for a nonsuit, which was denied, and the defendants excepted. Yerdic.t for the plaintiff.

Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.

Opinion of the Court — Foster

*307 Foster, J.

If the plaintiff’s evidence is insufficient to warrant the jury in finding a verdict in his favor, and if the defendants’ evidence does not supply the defect, and so all the evidence in the case is legally incompetent to sustain a verdict for the plaintiff, a motion for a nonsuit should be granted. And in such a case it does not seem to be material whether the motion is made at the close of the plaintiff’s case, or whether it is delayed till all the evidence is in.

Pillsbury v. Pillsbury, 20 N. H. 90;

Fletcher v. Thomp son, 55 N. H. 308;

Oakes v. Thornton, 28 N. H. 44. The motion for a nonsuit was seasonably made.

Did the plaintiff’s evidence mate out a prima facie case? The contract on which it is claimed the defendants are liable to the plaintiff is one of life-insurance; and to ascertain what that contract was, the intention of the parties must govern.

Robert v. N. E. Ins. Co., 2 Disney (Ohio) 106 . Whatever the contract may have be^n in relation to the first policy of September 10,1872, and however fraudulent may have been the representations of Butler in re! gard to it, the plaintiff is to recover in this case, if at all, by the contract of December 31, 1874. Previous to that time he had acquired no rights against the defendants under the last policy. The negotiations with reference to it amounted simply to a proposal to take insurance, — not to a contract. By signing the application, accepting the policy, and bringing a suit on it, the plaintiff, in the absence of fraud or imposition, must be held to have had notice of, to have understood, and to have agreed to the terms, limitations, and conditions contained in the application for insurance and in the policy.

Grace v. Adams, 100 Mass. 505 . He agreed, in consideration of the insurance by the company on the life of R. B., to pay the company an advance premium of ©61.20 in cash, and a loan note of $30; and he also had notice of and agreed to this provision in the policy, “ that the policy shall not take effect until the advance premium hereon shall have been paid during the lifetime of the person whose life is hereby insured.” And in still more emphatic language, the same condition is expressed in the application which he signed. This was one of the essential parts of the contract.

Davis v. Mass. Mut. L. Ins. Co., 13 Blatchf. 462 .

But it is claimed that the plaintiff received a receipt from the company acknowledging the payment of the advance premium, and that the company are estopped by that receipt. It does not appear, however, that the plaintiff was misled or could have been misled by this receipt, so far as the company were concerned. He knew he had not done all that was required by the terms of the policy; that he had not performed his part of the contract; and he cannot now set up an estoppel against the company in his own favor, when he had full knowledge of all the facts relating to the transaction, and knew, as matter of fact, that he was not entitled to a receipt.

Baker v. Ins. Co., 43 N. Y. 283 ;

Sheldon v. Atlantic *308 Co., 26 N. Y. 460 ;

Pitt v. Berkshire L. Ins. Co., 100 Mass. 500 ;

Bergson v. Builders’ Ins. Co., 38 Cal. 541 .

The arrangement with Hodgdon, by which the $50 paid on the old policy was to be transferred in payment of the first six months premium on the one in suit, does not bind the company. Hodgdon was acting, not in his individual capacity, but as the agent of the company. He might have agreed to pay the balance due out of his own pocket, and, with the assent of the company, made the plaintiff his debtor. But the plaintiff’s testimony conclusively shows that it was an arrangement by which the company was to be bouird. It was not an attempt to defer payment beyond a specified time, but it was an attempt to waive and avoid payment of the full amount due, in fraud of the company. Had Hodgdon any authority to compromise with policy-holders in this manner? We have found no case in which an agent’s power has been extended to this point; and on principle we see no reason why it should be, in the absence of airy authority or ratification by the principal.

Catoir v. Ins. Co., 33 N. Y. 487 ;

Hoffman v. Ins. Co., 92 U. S. 161 ;

Franklin L. Ins. Co.

v. Sefton, 53 Ind. 380 ;

Union Mut. L. Ins. Co.

v. McMillen, 24 Ohio State 67 ;

Merserau v. Phœnix M. L. Ins. Co., 66 N. Y. 274 ;

Davis v. Mass. Mut. L. Ins. Co., 13 Blatchf. 462;

How v. Union Mut. Ins. Co., 80 N. Y. 32 . The plaintiff introduced no evidence tending to show that Hodgdon was a general agent of the company, or, that he held himself out as such. But the policy provided that “ no agent of the company shall make any contract binding the company, nor alter or change any condition of this policy, nor waive forfeiture of this policy.” Hodgdon did - attempt to make a contract binding on the company to release the plaintiff from his obligation to pay the whole of the advance premium, and did thus- attempt to alter and change one of the essential conditions of the policy. The plaintiff, therefore, having full and ample notice and knowledge of the restrictions on Hodgdon’s authority in this respect, as an agent of the defendants, cannot now hold the company responsible for his unauthorized contract unless the company has in some way ratified it.

In Davis v. Mass. Mut. L. I. Co., cited above, the defendants being the same as in this case, and the policy containing the same conditions and limitations, Judge Shipman says, — “ It is not necessary, under the provisions of this application and policy, to consider any distinction between the powers of a general agent, by which term I mean an agent who is authorized to make contracts of life insurance, and the powers of a sub-agent who is employed ■ ‘ to solicit applications for insurance, and under such employment to collect premiums on policies that were placed in his hands, and thereupon to deliver premium receipts and such policies to the assured,’ and whose powers are coextensive with the business entrusted to his care, because in my opinion the powers of any person who was an agent, and not an officer of the company, to vary *309 the terms of the contract which had been entered into between the company and Sweatland, had been taken away, and the prohibition of the exercise of such powers was known to Sweatland. The provisions alike of the application and of the policy declare that the policy will not take effect unless prepayment has been made. This condition could have been waived by the company or its duly authorized agent, unless the agent has been prohibited from varying the terms of the policy, and that restriction of his powers had been brought home to the knowledge of the insured.”

The evidence, introduced by the plaintiff to show Hodgdon’s method or custom of doing his insurance business, was immaterial. Not showing that the company ever knew of or ratified his acts in the instances testified to, or that the terms of the policies were the same as those in the plaintiff’s policy, it was not competent for the jury to find from such testimony that the company in this case wore bound as having knowledge of Hodgdon’s special arrangement with the plaintiff. A principal cannot be held responsible for acts of his agent beyond the apparent scope of his authority, which he has never ratified, and of which he has never had any actual knowledge. Fr anklin Ins. Co.

v. Sefton, 53 Ind. 380 ;

Koelges v. Guard. L. Ins. Co., 2 Lans. 480 ;

Bouton v. Am. Mut. L. Ins. Co., 25 Conn. 542 .

Nor is the defect in the plaintiff’s case supplied by the defendants’ testimony. The fact, that the company charged the premium to Hodgdon when they issued the policy, being in accordance with a custom of business between the company and their agents, not being regarded by the company as a payment, and not being known to and understood by the plaintiff as a payment of his indebtedness to the company, cannot now be held to have had that effect. As against the ageirt, it was not a debt due to the company until he received the money; if he never received the money and returned the policy, the premium was credited to him on the company’s books ; and if he delivered the policy without receiving the premium, the policy by its terms was not to be enforced.

A

ud there is no evidence that Hodgdon agreed with the plaintiff to become personally responsible to the company for the amount of his premium.

Buffum v. Fayette M. F. I. Co., 3 Allen 360 ;

Hoyt v. Mutual Benefit L. I. Co., 98 Mass. 539 ;

Acey v. Fernie, 7 Mee. & W. 151.

The note for 830, which was a part of the advance premium, was never delivered to the company. It was made by R. B. and delivered to the plaintiff. It did not, in any proper sense, come into the possession of the company. The plaintiff could not accept it in behalf of the company. He could not, for the company, pass on its proper execution. The evidence at most only shows that the plaintiff was requested to carry the blank note to It. B., and after he had signed it to bring it back to Hodgdon. But it was as much a part of the contract that the note should be delivered, as *310 that the cash part of the premium should be paid. The note, therefore, never having been legally delivered to the defendants, the plaintiff, has failed to perform his part of the contract in this respect.

Lewis v. Phœnix M. L. I. Co., 44 Conn. 72 ;

Markey v. Ins. Co., 118 Mass. 178 .

All the evidence in the case not being competent to sustain a verdict in favor of the plaintiff, a nonsuit should have been ordered.

Verdict set aside.

Dob, C. J., Stanley, Bingham, Smith, and Clark, JJ., did not sit: Allen, J., concurred.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1907: 119072026peak 1907 · 1

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Farnham v. Anderson68 A. 459 (N.H. 1907)

Most recent

  1. Farnham v. Anderson68 A. 459 (N.H. 1907)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 17

DepthCaseCited by
Franklin Life Ins. v. Sefton, 53 Ind. 380 (1876) 23
Davis v. Mass. Mut. Life Ins., 7 F. Cas. 141 (1876) 1
Grace v. Adams, 100 Mass. 505 (1868) 95
People v. the Canal Appraisers, 33 N.Y. 461 (1865) 87
Sheldon v. the Atl. Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 26 N.Y. 460 (1863) 63
Baker v. the Union Mut. Life Ins. Co., 43 N.Y. 283 (1871) 52
Hoffman v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins., 92 U.S. 161 (1876) 49
Pitt v. Berkshire Life Ins., 100 Mass. 500 (1868) 45
Bouton v. Am. Mut. Life Ins., 25 Conn. 542 (1857) 41
Bergson v. Builders Ins. Co., 38 Cal. 541 (1869) 27
Merserau v. Ph&338nix Mut. Life Ins. Co., 66 N.Y. 274 (1876) 22
Markey v. Mut. Benefit Life Ins., 118 Mass. 178 (1875) 20
Lewis v. Phœnix Mut. Life Ins., 44 Conn. 72 (1876) 20
Hoyt v. Mut. Benefit Life Ins., 98 Mass. 539 (1868) 14
How v. Union Mut. Life Ins. Co., 80 N.Y. 32 (1880) 9
Koelges v. Guardian Life Ins., 2 Lans. 480 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1870) 2
Robert v. New England Mut. Ins., 2 Disney (Ohio) 106 (Oh. Super. Ct., Cinci. 1858) 1

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list