TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Cooper v. U.S.M.B. Assn.

Frances E. Cooper v. . the United States Mutual Benefit Association

Cooper v. U.S.M.B. Assn., 30 N.E. 833 (N.Y. 1892)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
New York Court of Appeals · State Highest Courts
Decided
April 19, 1892
Judges
HAIGHT, J.
Citations
30 N.E. 833132 N.Y. 3341892 N.Y. LEXIS 1197

Opinion of the Court

This action was brought upon a certificate of insurance, issued by the defendant, to recover five thousand dollars.

The defendant, by its certificate, undertook to insure Theodore H. Cooper against personal bodily injury, and in case he should receive such injuries disabling him from transacting business pertaining to his occupation to pay him certain amounts specifically named in the certificate, dependent upon the nature of his injuries, and in case death should result from such injuries within ninety days to pay to the plaintiff, as his wife, the sum of five thousand dollars.

The certificate contained the following:

"No suit or proceeding at law or in equity shall be brought * * * to recover any sum under this insurance unless the same is commenced within one year from the time of the alleged accidental injury."

Cooper received an accidental bodily injury on December 10, 1887, which resulted in his death on January 2, 1888.

This action was commenced on December 29, 1888, more than one year after the accident, but within one year of his death. *Page 337

It is claimed that the action was not commenced within the time required by the provision of the certificate referred to.

It will be observed that provisions are made in the certificate for two different persons who, upon the happening of the events specified, may have a right of action against the association. One provision is in favor of Cooper, who may recover during his life-time the amounts provided for his disability resulting from the accidental injury received. The other is to his wife, which is for the injuries which she suffers by reason of his death resulting from such accident.

The accident received by Cooper did not injure the plaintiff or give her a right of action until death ensued. So far as she is concerned the infliction of the wound is but the beginning, and the death is the completion of the injury. Her suit must be "commenced within one year from the time of the alleged accidental injury." In other words, within one year from the time of the injury to her, which was the death of her husband, as the result of the accident.

As to Cooper, he suffered from the date of the wound. His right to indemnity dates from that event, and it is possible that his right to maintain an action would not continue after the expiration of a year from that date.

But as to the plaintiff, it appears to us that the construction already indicated was intended, and should be given to the certificate. As thus construed the various clauses of the contract are rendered harmonious, and the different beneficiaries thereunder are given the same period of limitation within which to bring actions to establish their claims.

This construction is, in a measure, sustained by the authorities.

In the case of Steen v. Niagara Fire Insurance Company ( 89 N.Y. 315 ), the policy of insurance required actions to be brought within twelve months next after the "loss or damage shall accrue." In an action upon the policy it was held that the period of limitation prescribed did not commence to run until the loss became due and payable and the right to bring an action had accrued. *Page 338

And to the same effect are the cases of Mayor, etc., v. Hamilton Fire Insurance Company ( 39 N.Y. 45 ) and Hay v. Star Fire Insurance Company (77 id. 235).

The case of King v. Watertown Fire Insurance Company ( 47 Hun, 1 ) appears to us to be clearly distinguishable. In that case the policy provided that no suit or action could be maintained unless commenced "within twelve months next after the fire shall have occurred." In that case it was held that the year within which the action must be brought commenced to run from the date on which the fire occurred, it so having been expressly stipulated in the policy.

We consequently are of the opinion that the judgment should be affirmed, with costs.

All concur, except VANN, J., not sitting.

Judgment affirmed.

How later courts describe this case

Explanatory parentheticals written by citing courts — 1 in all; the most informative distinct ones are shown.

1902: 11904: 11907: 11911: 11915: 11933: 12010: 119022026peak 1902 · 1

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Allen v. Dutchess County Mutual Insurance95 A.D. 86 (1904)
  2. Fabozzi v. Lexington Insurance601 F.3d 88 (2d Cir. 2010)
  3. Wever v. Pioneer Fire Insurance Co.1915 OK 1046, 153 P. 1146
  4. Savery v. Commercial Travelers Mutual Accident Ass'n of America238 A.D. 189 (1933)
  5. Moest v. Continental Casualty Co.55 Misc. 128 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1907)
  6. Fidelity & Casualty Co. v. Brown69 S.W. 915 (Ct. App. Ind. Terr. 1902)

Most recent

  1. Fabozzi v. Lexington Insurance601 F.3d 88 (2d Cir. 2010)
  2. Savery v. Commercial Travelers Mutual Accident Ass'n of America238 A.D. 189 (1933)
  3. Wever v. Pioneer Fire Insurance Co.1915 OK 1046, 153 P. 1146
  4. United Commercial Travelers v. Sain186 F. 271 (6th Cir. 1911)
  5. Moest v. Continental Casualty Co.55 Misc. 128 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1907)
  6. Allen v. Dutchess County Mutual Insurance95 A.D. 86 (1904)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 2

DepthCaseCited by
Steen v. Niagara Fire Ins. Co., 89 N.Y. 315 (1882) 79
Mayor of N.Y. v. Hamilton Fire Ins., 39 N.Y. 45 (1868) 42

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list