TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Brooks & Dahlgren v. Pettigrew

BROOKS & DAHLGREN Et Al. v. PETTIGREW Et Al.

Brooks & Dahlgren v. Pettigrew, 1945 OK 202, 159 P.2d 743
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Supreme Court of Oklahoma · State Highest Courts
Decided
June 19, 1945
Docket
No. 31767.
Judges
Arnold, Bayless, Corn, Davison, Gibson, Hurst, Osborn, Welch
Citations
159 P.2d 7431945 OK 202195 Okla. 5501945 Okla. LEXIS 440

Opinion of the Court — Per Curiam

PER CURIAM.

This is an original proceeding brought by Brooks & Dahlgren, hereinafter called petitioners, to review an award for permanent total disability made by the State Industrial Commission to R. S. Pettigrew, respondent. On August 24, 1935, respondent filed his first notice of injury and claim for compensation stating that on August 2, 1935, he sustained an accidental injury arising out of and in the course of. his employment with the petitioner when a piece of machinery on which he was working struck him in the face injuring his face, left shoulder, neck and head.

Voluntary payment was made by the petitioner on form 21 until final order on April 6, 1937, adjudicating the permanent partial disability to and including that date. On June 30, 1941, petitioner filed an application to discontinue payment for compensation on the ground that there had been a change in condition for the better, and on August 11, 1941, the commission denied this application, and the order made thereon became final.

On January 20, 1944, the respondent filed motion to reopen the case on the *551 ground of change of condition. After extensive hearings held herein on March I, 1944, an award was made for permanent total disability. This proceeding is brought to review the latter award.

It is first argued that the award cannot be sustained for the reason that there is no date fixed since the prior order on August 11, 1941, by the State Industrial Commission on which the respondent sustained a change in condition. Respondent states that because petitioners appealed from the order entered August 11, 1941, and abandoned the appeal, the order never became final. No authority is cited in support of this proposition. The order of August II, 1941, became final. Petitioners also point out that there is a statement that from and after April 6, 1937, and after August 11, 1941, the respondent sustained a change in condition, and argue in connection therewith that the award is based upon a confused finding of fact in this respect. We have repeatedly held that before an award can be justified on the ground of change of condition the evidence must support the finding that there was a change of condition from and after the date of the last prior award. Payne Drilling Co. v. Shoemake, 183 Okla. 10 , 79 P. 2d 806 ; Olentine v. Calloway, 147 Okla. 137 , 295 P. 608 ; Marland Production Co. v. Hogan, 146 Okla. 220 , 294 P. 115 .

If, therefore, there is any competent evidence reasonably tending to support the finding of the State Industrial Commission that after August 11, 1941, the date of the last prior award, there was any change in the physical condition of the respondent, and that by reason of such change of condition respondent is totally and permanently disabled, a finding as to any disability prior thereto would be mere surplusage. The evidence discloses that from and after the date of the injury the respondent performed little or no labor of any kind. His injuries were severe and the disability resulting therefrom is likewise serious and permanent. Dr. Margo testified that in the latter part of 1942 and the early part of 1943 respondent’s present condition manifested itself and that by reason thereof he is now totally and permanently disabled. In Board of Com’rs, Oklahoma County, v. State Industrial Commission, 184 Okla. 133 , 85 P. 2d 396 , we discussed a similar fact situation and stated that where the record shows by competent evidence that an injured employee is totally and permanently disabled and there is no showing that he is' earning or able to earn any wages at manual or mechanical labor, such award is supported by competent evidence and will not be disturbed. That an award for total and permanent disability is based upon 85 O. S. 1941 §• 22, subd. 1, and that this is true whether the award is made for the first total disability or a total disability which arises upon a change of condition after the award has been made for permanent partial disability. See Evans-Wallower Lead Co. v. Dry, 178 Okla. 48 , 61 P. 2d 561 , and Dennehy Construction Co. v. Kidd, 192 Okla. 463 , 137 P. 2d 535 .

In this connection it is argued that the award is not sustained by any competent evidence. As pointed out above the testimony of' Dr. Margo alone will support the finding of the State Industrial Commission that there was a change in the physical condition after August 11, 1941. The testimony is in irreconcilable conflict. Where there is any competent evidence reasonably tending to support the finding of fact of the State Industrial Commission, this court will not disturb such finding. Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Spoon, 155 Okla. 125 , 8 P. 2d 61 . An award under the Workmen’s Compensation Law cannot be said to be conjectural or unsupported by evidence merely because the evidence upon which it was based might have justified a different finding. Rialto Mining Co. v. Yokum, 153 Okla. 297 , 5 P. 2d 1065 . The State Industrial Commission is at liberty to accept the evidence of expert medical witnesses upon the question of fact of the disability due to an accidental injury and is not bound by the greater number testifying thereon. Standard Roofing & Material Co. v. Mosley, 176 Okla. 517 , 56 P. 2d *552 847. We are of the opinion, and hold, that the finding that the respondent is totally and permanently disabled is supported by the evidence.

It is next argued that the State Industrial Commission erred in making an award for the reason that it purports to cover more than 500 weeks at $15.39 per week. In this connection it is argued that there is no allowance made for a physical disfigurement in the sum of $300. The award is not susceptible to such criticism. It makes an allowance for all amounts paid for the prior disability. We have held that 500 weeks is the limit allowed in compensation cases. Hamilton & Hartman v. Badgett, 164 Okla. 31 , 22 P. 2d 350 ; Orth Kleifeker & Wallace v. Scott, 173 Okla. 448 , 49 P. 2d 112 . As pointed out by the respondent, this is a matter of mathematical calculation, and we apprehend that there will be no difficulty in the direction of this court that the award will be limited as provided by these holdings.

The award of the State Industrial Commission is sustained.

GIBSON, C.J., HURST, V.C.J., and OSBORN, BAYLESS, WELCH, CORN, DAVISON, and ARNOLD, JJ., concur.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1952: 11953: 11962: 11964: 119522026peak 1952 · 1

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Oliver v. Potlatch Forests, Inc.245 P.2d 775 (Idaho 1952)
  2. Hondo Petroleum Company v. Piearcy1962 OK 216, 376 P.2d 1012
  3. GENERAL ACC. FIRE & LIFE ASSUR. CORP. v. Mowry1953 OK 262, 262 P.2d 421
  4. Wilkerson Chevrolet, Inc. v. MacKey1964 OK 222, 396 P.2d 664

Most recent

  1. Wilkerson Chevrolet, Inc. v. MacKey1964 OK 222, 396 P.2d 664
  2. Hondo Petroleum Company v. Piearcy1962 OK 216, 376 P.2d 1012
  3. GENERAL ACC. FIRE & LIFE ASSUR. CORP. v. Mowry1953 OK 262, 262 P.2d 421
  4. Oliver v. Potlatch Forests, Inc.245 P.2d 775 (Idaho 1952)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 11

DepthCaseCited by
Marland Prod. Co. v. Hogan, 1930 OK 478, 294 P. 115 40
Olentine v. Calloway, 1931 OK 19, 295 P. 608 17
Evans-Wallower Lead Co. v. Dry, 1936 OK 543, 61 P.2d 561 11
Hamilton Hartman v. Badgett, 1933 OK 333, 22 P.2d 350 10
Orth Kleifeker & Wallace v. Scott, 1935 OK 770, 49 P.2d 112 9
Payne Drilling Co. v. Shoemake, 1938 OK 348, 79 P.2d 806 7
Rialto Mining Co. v. Yokum, 1931 OK 766, 5 P.2d 1065 5
Bd. of Com'rs v. State Indus. Comm'n, 1938 OK 630, 85 P.2d 396 3
Magnolia Petroleum Co. v. Spoon, 1932 OK 125, 8 P.2d 61 3
Standard Roofing & Material Co. v. Mosley, 1936 OK 348, 56 P.2d 847 79
Dennehy Constr. Co. v. Kidd, 1943 OK 173, 137 P.2d 535 4

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list