TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Shay v. National Benefit Society

Shay v. Nat'l Benefit Soc'y, 7 N.Y.S. 287 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1889)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
New York Supreme Court · State Trial Courts
Decided
October 19, 1889
Judges
MacOmber
Citations
7 N.Y.S. 28761 N.Y. Sup. Ct. 10926 N.Y. St. Rep. 57954 Hun 1091889 N.Y. Misc. LEXIS 1053
Headnotes
Mutual Insurance—Assessments—Waiver. One of tbe rules under which an insurance company issued its policies was as follows: “The form of notice to, and the process of collection from, each of the members of the assessment above named, shall be as follows: A notice shall be sent announcing such assessment, and the number thereof, to the last post-office given to the society by each member; and if the assessment is not received within thirty days from the mailing of said notice it shall be accepted and taken as sufficient evidence that the party has decided to terminate his connection with the society, which connection shall thereupon terminate, and the party’s contract with the society shall lapse, and be void; but * * * for valid reasons to the officers of the society * * * he may be reinstated by paying assessment arrearages. ” Such a notice was sent to one of the members on June 1st, and, the assessment not being paid within 30 days, a second notice was sent on July 5th, and the assessment was paid July 21st, but after the death of the insured; and the officers of the society, knowing of such death, gave a receipt in due form for the payment. Held, that the sending of the second notice was a waiver of the forfeiture occurring upon failure to pay the assessment within the required time after the first notice, and, having received such payment unquestioned, the society cannot repudiate its liability on the policies.
Summary
Motion for new trial on exceptions. Action by Emily J. Shay against the National Benefit Society of the city of New York to recover upon policies of insurance issued by the defendant to James Shay for the benefit of plaintiff. There was a verdict directed for the plaintiff, and defendant’s exceptions and motion for new trial" were ordered to be heard at the general term in the first instance.

Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.

Opinion of the Court — MacOmber

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

Macomber, J.

One of the rules (the third) of the company, and under which the assured received the policies, is as follows: “The form of notice to, and process of collection from", each of the members of the assessment above named, shall be as follows: A notice shall be sent announcing such assessment, and the number thereof, to the last post-office given to the society by each member; and if the assessment is not received within thirty days from the mailing of the said notice it shall be accepted and taken as sufficient evidence that the party has decided to terminate his connection with the society, which connection shall thereupon 'terminate, and the party’s contract with the society shall lapse, and be void; but said party may again renew his connection with the society by a new contract, made in the same manner as the first, or, for valid reasons to the officers of the society, (such as a failure to receive notice of the assessment,) he may be reinstated by paying assessment arrearages.” On the 31st day of May, 1886, a notice to pay a death rate to the company for the death of one of the members was mailed to James Shay. It was dated June 1, 1886. It was therein stated that the assessment was made “to provide for this claim, and your assessment of $16.80 is now due, and payable within thirty days from the date hereof.” Annexed to the notice was what is called a coupon, which was a summary statement of the number of the policy, and the name of the insured, and the amount and the time of the expiration for the payment of the assessment, which was there stated to be July 1, 1886. This sum was not paid within the month of June by the deceased, or by anybody else in his behalf. The same blank notice, filled up in the same manner, was again mailed to the deceased July 5th or 6th. This was marked in conspicuous letters “Second Notice.” When this last or second notice, so called, was sent to the deceased the time for the payment, by the terms of the notice itself, had passed by about five or six days. If any forfeiture had been worked by the failure to pay the assessment it was before the sending of such last notice. Under the phraseology of the third provision or rule above quoted it seems to us that the company, by sending out a second notice, intended to and did, in fact, waive any forfeiture which had been incurred by the assured by reason of his failure to pay the assessment on or before July 1st. This act of waiver was not done by any subordinate officer of the company, but by the company itself through its treasurer. Under the rules of the company it was doubtless competent for the defendant to treat the failure to pay within the previous 30 days sufficient evidence that the party had decided to terminate his connection with the society, and for the company, on its part, to take the position that the policy had lapsed, and was void. It is there provided that the “party may again renew his connection with the society by a new contract/made in the same manner as at first; or, for valid reasons to the officers of the society, (such as a failure to receive notice of an assessment,) he may be reinstated by paying the assessment arrearages.” Here was, therefore, an invitation to the deceased necessarily involving a waiver of a previous forfeiture to pay, within the usual time after the service of such notice, the assessment which was claimed from him; and there was impliedly a promise on the part of the company that if such payment was made within 30 days from the time of the reception of the second notice there should be no forfeiture. Payment was made by express within that period, namely, on the 21st day of July, 1886, and was received by the defendant on *289 the 22d of that month, but not until after the death of the insured. A receipt in due form was given for such payment, and was written upon the face of the second notice. Subsequently to this payment the company undertook to retire from the obligation which it assumed by receiving unquestioned the money, and giving a receipt therefor, to repudiate such payment, and to insist upon the previous opportunity to work a forfeiture. In this respect also the action of the defendant cannot be upheld. The officers, at the time of the receipt of the money, knew that James Shay was dead. On the 22d day of July, 1886, the defendant returned, by express, addressed to L. L. Shay, a daughter of the deceased, money orders for $16.80, and $7.80 for the assessments, alleging as follows: “ The assessments were due and payable on or before July first; and, not having been paid then, the certificates lapsed and became void by the conditions therein, and reinstatement can only be made under the terms of our certificates and by-laws upon satisfactory evidence of good health at the time, or by new contract made in the same manner as at first. Certificate of health must accompany remittances.” This communication contains no intimation that the clerk, who had been furnished proper receipts, had no power or right to receive and to retain the assessments. On the contrary, it places the rights of the company upon a ground utterly untenable with respect to the third rule above quoted.

Under these circumstances, there being no request on the part of the defendant to go to the jury, but both sides participating in a motion for a direction of a verdict respectively, we think the direction of the trial court was correct, and the judgment should be granted to the plaintiff upon the verdict, as directed, with costs. All concur.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1890: 11891: 11895: 21897: 11899: 11901: 11907: 118902026peak 1895 · 2

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. King v. Masonic Life Ass'n34 N.Y.S. 563 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1895)
  2. Sieburg v. Massachusetts Ben. Life Ass'n33 N.Y.S. 1064 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1895)
  3. McClure v. Supreme Lodge41 A.D. 131 (1899)
  4. Cornell v. Travelers' Insurance Co. of Hartford120 A.D. 459 (1907)
  5. Lamb v. Prudential Insurance22 A.D. 552 (1897)
  6. Griesa v. Massachusetts Benefit Ass'n15 N.Y.S. 71 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1891)

Most recent

  1. Cornell v. Travelers' Insurance Co. of Hartford120 A.D. 459 (1907)
  2. Cross v. Security Trust & Life Insurance58 A.D. 602 (1901)
  3. McClure v. Supreme Lodge41 A.D. 131 (1899)
  4. Lamb v. Prudential Insurance22 A.D. 552 (1897)
  5. King v. Masonic Life Ass'n34 N.Y.S. 563 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1895)
  6. Sieburg v. Massachusetts Ben. Life Ass'n33 N.Y.S. 1064 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1895)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 0

No citations to other opinions in this database were found.

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list