TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Warmcastle v. Scottish Union & National Insurance

Warmcastle v. Scottish Union & National Insurance Company

Warmcastle v. Scottish Union & Nat'l Ins., 50 A. 941 (Pa. 1902)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania · State Highest Courts
Decided
January 6, 1902
Docket
Nos. , No. 73
Judges
Beown, Fell, Mesteezat, Mitchell, Potteb, Pottee
Citations
50 A. 941201 Pa. 3021902 Pa. LEXIS 828
Disposition
Reversed.
Syllabus
Insurance—Fire insurance—Lightning—Loss by wind or storm. While an insurer is liable for all losses which may result from or can be fairly attributed to the peril insured against, the insurer may impose such conditions as he pleases, and while assuming the burden of indemnity against lightning, he may stipulate in the same connection against any liability for loss by wind or storm. Where a contract of fire insurance provides that the “policy shall cover any direct loss or damage caused by lightning,” but “ in no case to include loss or damage by cyclone, tornado or wind storm,” the burden is upon the insured to distinguish between the two elements of damage and to show what was caused by lightning and what by wind storm. In such a case it may be difficult for the jury to draw the line between the damage caused directly by the lightning, and that caused by the wind, but it must be done, for there is no warrant in the policy for holding the defendant liable in any way for the damage caused by the wind storm.
Summary
Appeal, No. 73, Oct. T., 1901, by defendant, from, judgment of C. P. No. 3, Allegheny Co., Feb. T., 1900, No. 15, on verdict for plaintiff in case of Charles A. Warmcastle v. Scottish Union & National Insurance Company. Assumpsit on a policy of fire insurance. Before Evans, J. At the trial it appeared that the policy in suit contained this stipulation: “ This policy shall cover any direct loss or damage caused by lightning (meaning thereby the commonly accepted use of the term lightning, and in no case to include damage or loss by cyclone, tornado or wind storm).” The evidence in the case tended to show that the property insured was struck by lightning on May 29, 1899, during a violent thunder and wind storm. The defendant introduced evidence which tended strongly to show that much of the damage was caused by the wind. Defendant presented the following points: 1. The burden is upon the plaintiff to prove by the preponderance of evidence that his building was injured by lightning and to show the amount of the direct loss or damage caused thereby, exclusive of cyclone, tornado or wind storm. Answer: Refused. [1] 3. If the jury should believe from the evidence that the plaintiff’s building was struck by lightning and injured somewhat and weakened, and the wind did the main damage, the jury must strictly confine its verdict to the actual direct damage done by the lightning, exclusive of the damage done by the wind. Answer: Refused. [2] 4. If the jury should believe that the plaintiff’s building was struck by lightning, and the plaintiff not having offered any evidence as to the amount of direct loss or damage occasioned thereby, he cannot recover more than nominal damages. Answer : Refused. [3] Verdict and judgment for plaintiff for $3,089.40. Defendant appealed. Errors assigned wore (1-3) above instructions, quoting them.

Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.

Opinion of the Court — Potteb

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

Opinion by Mb. Justice Potteb,

The policies of insurance upon which this suit was brought were of the ordipary standard form, providing for indemnity against fire; but in addition thereto, liability for direct damage by lightning was assumed by a specific agreement attached to the policy, in the following words : “ This policy shall cover any direct, loss or damage caused by lightning (meaning thereby the commonly accepted use of the term lightning, and in no case to include loss or damage by cyclone, tornado or wind storm).”

It is perfectly clear that under this clause the insurer stipulated not only that it would be liable to the insured for direct loss or damage caused by lightning, but that it was also expressly excluded from any liability for damages caused by cyclone, tornado or wind storm.

The testimony seems to show some injury by lightning, and that great damage was also caused by wind. In order to re-' cover .under the terms of the policy, it was incumbent upon the plaintiff to distinguish between the two elements of damage. For that resulting from the lightning, he had a right to recover; but for that which was caused by the wind there was no liability whatever upon the part of the defendant. This is the clear and definite contract entered into by the parties and, any attempt to extend it beyond the terms expressly stipulated in the words of the policy would be to substitute a new agreement in its stead.

The'defendant’s counsel presented three points for charge, which sought to confine the verdict of the jury to the- direct damage caused by lightning, exclusive of that caused by the wind. These points were refused by the court, and the jury were instructed that they might take into consideration not *305 only the effect of the lightning but the subsequent injury by the wind, apparently upon the theory that the building was weakened by the lightning stroke, and thus rendered more susceptible to the effect of the wind. It is true that as a general principle the insurer is liable for all losses which result from or can be fairly attributed to the peril insured against, but it is equally true that the insurer may impose such conditions as it pleases, and while assuming the burden of indemnity against lightning, it may stipulate in the same connection against any liability for loss by wind or storm. This is just what was done by the terms of the policy in suit.

The defendant was entitled to an affirmance of the points which were refused. It may be difficult for the jury to draw the line between the damage caused directly by the lightning, and that caused by the wind; but it must be done, for there is no warrant in the policy for holding the defendant liable in any way for the damage caused by the wind storm.

The assignments of error are therefore all sustained; the judgment is reversed and a venire facias de novo awarded.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

Cited by 10 cases

View all citing references →
1904: 11907: 11912: 11917: 21926: 11934: 11935: 11947: 11951: 119042026peak 1917 · 2

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Palatine Ins. Co. v. Petrovich235 S.W. 929 (Tex. App. 1917)
  2. Palatine Ins. Co. v. Coyle196 S.W. 560 (Tex. App. 1917)
  3. Russell v. German Fire Insurance111 N.W. 400 (Minn. 1907)
  4. Cummings v. Pennsylvania Fire Insurance153 Iowa 579 (1912)
  5. Paul v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance253 N.W. 752 (N.D. 1934)
  6. Styborski v. Hartford Fire Insurance82 A.2d 543 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1951)

Most recent

  1. Styborski v. Hartford Fire Insurance82 A.2d 543 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1951)
  2. Varano v. Protection Mutual Fire Insurance61 Pa. D. & C. 600 (1947)
  3. Roddy v. United States Fire Insurance25 Pa. D. & C. 3 (1935)
  4. Paul v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance253 N.W. 752 (N.D. 1934)
  5. Home Insurance Co. v. Wolfman134 A. 50 (Del. 1926)
  6. Palatine Ins. Co. v. Coyle196 S.W. 560 (Tex. App. 1917)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 0

No citations to other opinions in this database were found.

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list