Summary
Contract by the widow of William T. Cheswell, the chief of the fire department of the city of Boston, upon a policy of accident insurance to recover $1,250 and interest alleged to be due under such policy upon the death of the plaintiff’s husband on February 15, 1906, alleged to have been caused by his being thrown violently from his carriage while he was responding to an alarm of fire on December 20, 1905. Writ dated July 23,1906.
In the Superior Court the case was tried before White, J. The findings warranted by the evidence are stated in the opinion. At the time the policy was issued the insured was a district chief of the fire department of the city of Boston and at the time of his death was the chief of that department as stated above. It appeared that on December 20, 1905, he was severely injured in the manner stated above and was removed on the same day to the Massachusetts General Hospital, where he was placed under the care of Dr. H. H. A. Beach, and was discharged therefrom, much relieved, on December 29, 1905. He thereupon returned to his home, and remained in his house until January 22, 1906, when he resumed his duties as chief of the fire department. These duties he continued to perform until February 15, 1906, when, in the early morning, while directing his subordinates at a fire on Commercial Street, Boston, he suddenly was taken ill, was removed immediately to the relief hospital in Haymarket Square, and died there in less than three minutes after his arrival. No post-mortem examination was made.
The policy sued upon, omitting the provisions immaterial to the case, was as follows:
“No. 19687
Age 49
Fraternal Accident.
Association of America.
Located at Westfield, Massachusetts, Hampden Co.
Accident Certificate.
Amount $1250
Class 5
“ In consideration of the warranties in the application, a copy of which is endorsed hereon, for this certificate and the agreement on the part of the certificate holder to accept the conditions contained in this certificate as the basis of this contract, and in consideration of five dollars paid by William T. Cheswell of Boston, County of Suffolk, State of Massachusetts, Occupation District Chief Fire Department, the receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged, does hereby constitute the said applicant a certificate holder of said Association and agree to pay to the said certificate holder subject to the terms, qualifications, and conditions in this certificate contained and endorsed on the back hereof, the following sums of money, viz:
“ The sum of ten dollars per week for a period not exceeding fifty-two consecutive weeks as indemnity for loss of time resulting from bodily injury so effected during the life of this certificate through external, violent, and accidental means which shall independently of all other causes, immediately and wholly disable him from transacting any and every kind of business pertaining to his occupation above stated. .
“. . . And the said Association agree to pay to Mrs. Millie B. Cheswell (wife) if living, if not, to the executors or administrators of said member, in trust however, for and to be forthwith paid over to his heirs at law the sum of Twelve hundred fifty dollars if the death of the certificate holder shall result from such injuries alone within ninety days from the date of said accident. Except that if the insured is injured while engaged temporarily or otherwise in any occupation or exposure classed by this Association as more hazardous than that here given, his insurance and weekly indemnity shall only be so much as the premium paid by him will purchase at the rates fixed for such increased hazard.
“In witness whereof, the Fraternal Accident Association of America has caused this certificate to be signed and sealed by its President, and Secretary, at Westfield, Hampden County, Mass., this certificate to take effect at 12 M. Noon this second day of February, 1891.
[Seal] “ Jas. Noble, Jr. President,
H. N. Kingsbury, Secretary.”
[Indorsed on back of Certificate.]
“ Conditions.
“ Third. This Association may cancel this certificate at any time by returning to the certificate holder any and all moneys paid by the certificate holder to the Association, less a pro-rata share for the time it has been in force.
“ Fourth. The total liability of this Association on this certificate shall not exceed in any event the principal sum within mentioned, therefore in case of death claim any sums previously paid as indemnity shall be deducted from said principal sum.”
“ Ninth. This insurance does not cover disappearance nor injuries of which there is no external visible mark upon the body; nor accident, nor death or disability resulting wholly or partly, directly or indirectly, from any of the following causes, or while so engaged or affected:
“ Disease or bodily infirmity. Hernia, fits, vertigo, sleepwalking.”
The application of the insured to the defendant for weekly indemnity under the policy referred to in the opinion was as follows:
“ Westfield, Mass., Feb. 2,1906.
“ I, William T. Cheswell, a resident of Boston, Mass., County of Suffolk, State of Mass., by occupation Chief Fire Dept, holding Policy No. -in the Fraternal Accident Association of
America, do depose and say that on the 20th day of December, 1905, at 12 o’clock M., I received accidental bodily injuries as described in my formal notification of accident, and in proof of my claim for indemnity I make answers to the following questions, which I warrant to be true:
“ 1. When did you cease to perform the duties of your occupation or profession ? Dec. 20th, 1905.
“ 2. When did you first secure the service of a physician or surgeon ? Within five minutes.
“ 8. What are the duties of the occupation in which you were injured ? State them all. To respond to alarms of fire in the City of Boston and take command of the Fire Dept. ”
“ 5. Was the accident of such serious nature and extent as to prevent you from performing any and all of the duties of your occupation? Yes.
“ 6. How long were you confined to your house ? From Dec. 20 to Jan. 22. To your bed ? 9 days at Mass. Gen. Hospital.
“ 7. If not confined to the house, state how your time was employed. Confined to house.
“ 8. What duties have you been able to perform in your regular occupation, or otherwise? None.
“9. Were you suffering from any disease or infirmity other than that which was the direct result of the accident during the period for which you-claim indemnity? None.
“ 10. When did you first resume any of the duties of your occupation? Jan. 22nd, 1906.
“ 11. When did you resume most of the duties of your occupation? Jan. 22nd, 1906.
“ 12. For what length of time were you wholly disabled and prevented from attending to or performing any part of the duties of your occupation or those of any other remunerative employment? From the 20th day of Dec. 1905, to the 22nd day of Jan. 1906.”
“ 15. I claim full indemnity for 4 weeks, 4 days, at $10. per week, $45.71 and which, when paid, shall be in full discharge of any and all claims under my policy against the Fraternal Accident Association of America on account of the personal injuries aforesaid, and will release and forever discharge the said Association from all liability under Policy or Certificate No. 19687 on account of injuries received on the 20th day of Dec. 1905.
“ 16. I hereby declare that I am the person insured under Policy No. 19687, and have received personal bodily injuries caused solely by an accident, unforseen, occurring without design or intention, due wholly to violent means, external to the body, and not caused or contributed to by any disease or bodily infirmity whatsoever. I hereby warrant the truth of the answers to all questions contained in this application for indemnity and in the formal notification of accident, and that I have not abstained from my usual occupation, either wholly or partially, longer than was absolutely necessary. That I was not under the influence of intoxicating liquors or narcotics at the time of the accident. This statement is made by me with the understanding that by receiving it the Association waives no right on account of my failure to comply with any of the provisions or conditions of the policy or any other defense it may have.
“Wm. T. Cheswell.”
This foregoing application was received by the defendant on February 9, 1906, and a letter was written acknowledging its receipt. On February 10, 1906, a check of the defendant for $45.71 payable to the order of the insured was mailed to the insured at his address in Boston in a letter of the same date, signed by N. N. Kingsbury as secretary and treasurer of the defendant, saying, “Enclosed find our draft No. 5603 in full payment of your claim No. 6726 against this association.” The postage on this letter was prepaid and the envelope containing it had the defendant’s business address in the upper left hand-corner. In the defendant’s brief was the statement, “ This check was not used by Mr. Cheswell during his lifetime and had not been returned at the time of trial in the lower court.” The plaintiff testified that she never had seen the check and that after her husband’s death she examined his clothes and pocket book and looked through his effects and found no check of the defendant.
At the close of the evidence the judge refused to rule that upon the whole evidence the plaintiff was riot entitled to recover and also refused to make other rulings requested by the defendant which have become immaterial because the exceptions founded on their refusal were not argued.
The judge submitted to the jury the following questions, to which the jury returned the answers which are appended:
“ Did the death of William T. Cheswell, on February 15th, 1906, result, alone and independently of all other causes, from the injuries which he sustained in consequence of the accident which occurred to him on December 20th, 1905 ? ” “ Yes.”
“ Did William T. Cheswell, in due course of the mail, and in due course of business, receive from the defendant its check for $45.71 in full discharge of any and all claims under the policy set out in the plaintiff’s declaration ? ” “ No.”
The jury returned a general verdict for the plaintiff in the sum of $1,809.38; and the defendant alleged exceptions.
Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.