TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Leeper v. Franklin Life Insurance

OLIVE J. LEEPER v. FRANKLIN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY

Leeper v. Franklin Life Ins., 67 S.W. 941 (Mo. Ct. App. 1902)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Missouri Court of Appeals · State Appellate Courts
Decided
April 7, 1902
Judges
Ellison
Citations
67 S.W. 94193 Mo. App. 6021902 Mo. App. LEXIS 410
Disposition
Reversed.
Headnotes
Life Insurance: PAYMENT OF PREMIUM: UNPAID NOTE: ACTION. A life insurance policy issued in June recited as a consideration, among other things, ■ the payment of forty dollars. The fact was, a less sum was paid and the insured gave his note for thirty dollars due September following, and died the next February leaving said note unpaid. The policy provided that a failure to pay any note when due avoided the policy. Held, that the policy was forfeited and no action would lie thereon. Cases distinguished.
Summary
Appeal from Grundy Circuit Court. — I[on. P. 0. Stepp, Judge. Our contention is that under the undisputed facts and the plain terms and conditions of the contract, the policy became void September 1, 1900, for non-payment of the note given for part of the premium. Dircks v. Ins. Co., 34 Mo. App. 81; Mooney v. Ins. Co., 72 Mo. App. 92; Mooney v. Ins. Co., 80 Mo. App. 192. In no case can a party to a contract, therein acknowledge the receipt- of a valuable consideration, nor ever thereafter in an action upon such contract be heard to deny receiving such consideration, except for fraud or mistake. Dobvns v. Ins. Co., 144 Mo. 95; Jacobs v. Ins. Go., supra, 146 Mo-. 523; Miller v. Ins. Co., 12 Wall. 285; Ins. Co. v. Farrell, 49 111. 180; Michael v. Ins. Co., 1Ó La. An. Y3Y; Eeal Estate Co. v. Coshow, 41 Md. 59; Ins. Co. v. Gilman, 112 Ind. Y; Ins. Co. y. Mueller, YY 111. 22; Ins. Co. v. Anderson, YY 111. 384; Ins. Co. y. Coshow, 41 Md. 59-YY; Ins. Co. v. Wolff, 3Y 111. 354; Life Ass’n v. Sibley, 5Y 111. App. 246; Basch v. Ins. Co., 35 N. J. Law (6 Vroom) 429; Ins. Co. v. Booker, 56 Tenn. 9 (Heisk.) 606; Griffith v. Ins. Co., 36 Pac. Eep. (Cal.) 113; Ins. Co. v. Mueller, YY 111. 22; Basch y. Ins. Co-., 35 Law (6 Vroom.) 429; Ins. Co. v. Wolf, 3Y 111. 354.

Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.

Opinion of the Court — Ellison

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

ELLISON, J.

This is an action on a policy of life insurance issued June 1, 1900, wherein plaintiff is the beneficiary, her husband, James E. Leeper, being the party insured. He died the following February and defendant refused to pay. The judgment in the trial court was for plaintiff.

Among other things, the policy recited that in consideration of a former certificate issued by defendant, “and the payment of $40.55, being the premium for one years’ insurance, and in consideration of the further payment of a like amount on or before the first day of June in every year thereafter,” ■ the defendant promises to pay $3,000 upon the death of the assured.

In point of fact the assured only paid a lesser portion of the premium thus acknowledged to have been paid, for the balance, he executed his promissory note for $30.4Y due on September 1, following with seven per cent interest. The policy contained a provision that a failure to pay any note, principal and interest, when due would render it null and void. The assured did not pay the note when due; nor was it paid prior to his death, nor since then. The plaintiff undertakes to support the judgment on the ground that since the policy acknowledged the receipt of the first year’s pre *604 mium and that the assured died within that time, the defendant could not be heard to say that it had not been paid, ■or that the contract was non-effective. In support of this contention'reliance is placed on the case of Dobyns v. Ins. Co., 144 Mo. 95 , cited with approval in Jacobs v. Ins. Co., 146 Mo. 523 . That case furnishes no support whatever for the judgment here. That case merely decided that where an insurance policy acknowledged the receipt of the premium, the company can not deny its payment for the purpose of defeating the policy as an effective and valid policy of insurance upon sufficient consideration, and that the policy would continue in force for the first period named as covered by the premium acknowledged to have been paid. But that policy ■did not contain the stipulation found in the one in suit, viz.: that if the note was not paid when due the policy should become void. Judge Gantt expressly distinguishes that case from a case like the'one before us; and he cites authority to show the difference. Pitt v. Ins. Co., 100 Mass. 500 ; Baker v. Ins. Co., 43 N. Y. 283 . Notwithstanding an insurance policy may acknowledge the payment of the first premium, it may be shown that in fact a note was taken for such premium, and if the contract is that if such note is not paid when due the policy shall be void, it will be enforced just as any other contract between parties capable of contracting. Authorities, supra. As stated by Judge Gantt, in the Dobyns •case, the evidence in cases like the present is not admitted to show the contract was originally void for want of consideration (for the policy has admitted a consideration) but to show in what the consideration consisted and that the policy had subsequently become void for condition broken. The cases cited us, including McAllister v. Ins. Ob., 101 Mass. 558 , are not in point; that case is likewise expressly distinguished from a case like the one at bar. The precise question was before this court in Mooney v. Ins. Co., 80 Mo. App. 192 , where *605 Judge Gill, construed tbe Dobyns case. "What was then said should have controlled this case in the trial court. The judgment will he .reversed.

All concur.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1908: 11912: 11914: 11917: 11919: 11920: 11927: 119082026peak 1908 · 1

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Mutual Reserve Life Ins. Co. v. Heidel161 F. 535 (8th Cir. 1908)
  2. Occidental Life Insurance v. Jacobson137 P. 869 (Ariz. 1914)
  3. Gruen v. Standard Life & Accdient Insurance152 S.W. 407 (Mo. Ct. App. 1912)
  4. Malone v. State Life Insurance213 S.W. 877 (Mo. Ct. App. 1919)
  5. Farmers' & Merchants' Mutual Life Ass'n v. Mason116 N.E. 852 (Ind. Ct. App. 1917)
  6. Glover v. Kansas City Life Insurance218 S.W. 905 (Mo. Ct. App. 1920)

Most recent

  1. Finney v. American Central Ins. Company41 S.W.2d 1063 (Mo. Ct. App. 1927)
  2. Glover v. Kansas City Life Insurance218 S.W. 905 (Mo. Ct. App. 1920)
  3. Malone v. State Life Insurance213 S.W. 877 (Mo. Ct. App. 1919)
  4. Farmers' & Merchants' Mutual Life Ass'n v. Mason116 N.E. 852 (Ind. Ct. App. 1917)
  5. Occidental Life Insurance v. Jacobson137 P. 869 (Ariz. 1914)
  6. Gruen v. Standard Life & Accdient Insurance152 S.W. 407 (Mo. Ct. App. 1912)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 6

DepthCaseCited by
Baker v. the Union Mut. Life Ins. Co., 43 N.Y. 283 (1871) 52
Pitt v. Berkshire Life Ins., 100 Mass. 500 (1868) 45
McAllister v. New England Mut. Life Ins., 101 Mass. 558 (1869) 35
Jacobs v. Omaha Life Ass'n, 48 S.W. 462 (Mo. 1898) 25
Dobyns v. Bay State Beneficiary Ass'n, 45 S.W. 1107 (Mo. 1898) 16
Mooney v. Home Ins., 80 Mo. App. 192 (1899) 4

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list