TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Daniel v. Fireman's Fund Ins.

DANIEL v. FIREMAN'S FUND INS. CO.

Daniel v. Fireman's Fund Ins., 46 F.2d 784 (5th Cir. 1931)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit · U.S. Courts of Appeals
Decided
February 13, 1931
Docket
No. 5874
Judges
Foster
Citations
46 F.2d 7841931 U.S. App. LEXIS 2493

Opinion of the Court — Foster

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

FOSTER, Circuit Judge.

This is a suit by appellants to recover on a policy of fire insurance covering furniture and household effects to the extent of $5,000. Demurrers to the declaration and various pleas of the defendant were sustained and the suit was dismissed. The issues raised by the pleadings are these:

Defendant relies upon a clause of the policy requiring sworn proof of loss to be presented within 60 days after the fire unless waived in writing, which condition was not performed.

Plaintiff sets up waiver by conduct and alleges inter alia, in substance, the following facts: That the fire occurred on September 25, 1926, and on the same day verbal notice of the loss was given to J. R. Reese, agent of defendant, who had authority to receive premiums and to'countersign and issue policies; that Reese notified defendant, and one R. D. Bowers, an adjuster, was sent to investigate and negotiate for an adjustment and settlement of the loss; that Bowers investigated the fire and caused plaintiff (Mrs. Daniel) to appear before him on September 29, 1926, and she answered all questions propounded to her; that Bowers demanded a complete inventory of the property covered by the policy at the time of the loss; that on inquiry she was advised by Bowers that there was nothing further to do except to await the completion of his investigation; that within 60 days after the fire she served upon Bowers a complete and exact inventory in writing of the property covered by the policy, which inventory was retained by him without objection and has never been returned and no additions thereto have ever been demanded; that Bowers proceeded with his investigation of the claim, attempted to adjust it with plaintiff, and offered to recommend a partial payment, without raising any question as to- the sufficiency of the proof of loss submitted; that plaintiff within 60 days after the fire, and subsequently, again inquired whether there was anything further required of her, and was told by Bowers again that all that was necessary for her to do was to wait until the defendant could complete its investigation and decide as to what it would do; that during the said period on numerous occasions she inquired of Reese as to when her claim would be paid and was advised by him that he saw no reason why it should not be paid and that it would be paid in the very near future; that thereafter, upon plaintiff’s threatening suit, on April 20, 1927, defendant, through Bowers', advised plaintiff that as far as they knew no proof of loss had ever been filed and that consequently they had never been in a position to determine whether or not a valid claim ever had existed; that thereupon plaintiff, as soon as she could collect the data, prepared a formal *785 proof of loss complying in detail with all the requirements of the policy, and delivered same to defendant’s agent, Reese, on May 24, 1927; that Reese accepted the formal proof without objection; that defendant retained the formal proof for 22 days without objection and on June 15, 1927, returned it by registered mail to plaintiff without any specific objection as to the time of filing same, but stated that it could not accept it in compliance with the terms of the policy; that defendant had issued three other policies on the building and garage owned by plaintiff and destroyed by the same fire, which policies contained similar provisions as to giving notice and furnishing proofs of loss; that there were no formal proofs of loss furnished and no waivers in writing; that notwithstanding that fact defendant paid the full face value of each of the said three policies.

Appellee relied principally upon our decision in the ease of Harris v. North British & Mercantile Ins. Co., 30 F.(2d) 94 , and authorities therein cited. That ease is easily distinguishable, as it is pointed out in the opinion that no question of waiver or estoppel was involved.

The rule .applicable to the facts alleged in the declaration is stated by Cooley as follows:

“If the company investigates the loss on its own account, and so conducts itself with relation thereto as to show a satisfaction with the knowledge thus obtained, or to induce reasonable belief in insured that it is so satisfied, and does not desire formal notice or proofs, it will amount to a waiver of such formalities.” Cooley’s Briefs on Insurance, vol. 7, (2d Ed.) p. 6010.

There is abundant authority, both state and federal, to support the rule thus announced. Nat. Union Fire Ins. Co. v. Wright, 163 Ark. 42 , 257 S. W. 753 ; Pasherstnik v. Cont. Ins. Co., 67 Mont. 19 , 214 P. 603 ; Hitchcock v. State Ins. Co., 10 S. D. 271, 72 N. W. 898 ; Gristock v. Royal Ins. Co., 84 Mich. 161 , 47 N. W. 549 ; Snell v. North British Ins. Co., 61 Mont. 547 , 203 P. 521 ; Alliance Ins. Co. v. Enders (C. C. A.) 293 F. 485 ; Sweaney v. Ins. Co., 35 Idaho, 303 , 206 P. 178 ; Zurich Gen. Acc. Ins. Co. v. Drug Co. (Ind. App.) 170 N. E. 351 ; Firemen’s Ins. Co. v. Brooks (C. C. A.) 32 F.(2d) 451 , 65 A. L. R. 909; Concordia Ins. Co. v. School Dist. (C. C. A.) 40 F.(2d) 379 ; Continental Ins. Co. v. Fortner (C. C. A.) 25 F.(2d) 398 ; Twin City Ins. Co. v. Nat. Bk. (C. C. A.) 261 F. 470 ; Home Ins. Co. v. Hightower (C. C. A.) 22 F.(2d) 882 , 62 A. L. R. 620.

We think that the allegations of the declaration, if sustained by proof, are sufficient to allow plaintiff to go to- the jury and that it was error to dismiss the case.

Reversed and remanded.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1931: 11933: 11936: 11949: 11954: 11958: 119312026peak 1931 · 1

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Home Ins. Co. of New York v. Sullivan MacHinery Co.64 F.2d 765 (10th Cir. 1933)
  2. Balogh v. Jewelers Mutual Insurance Co.167 F. Supp. 763 (S.D. Fla. 1958)
  3. American Ins. Co. Of Newark, N. J. v. Burson213 F.2d 487 (5th Cir. 1954)
  4. Penn Mut. Life Ins. v. Tilton84 F.2d 10 (10th Cir. 1936)
  5. General Motors Acceptance Corp. v. American Ins.50 F.2d 803 (5th Cir. 1931)
  6. Johnston Mfg. Co. v. Great American Ins.84 F. Supp. 20 (E.D.S.C. 1949)

Most recent

  1. Balogh v. Jewelers Mutual Insurance Co.167 F. Supp. 763 (S.D. Fla. 1958)
  2. American Ins. Co. Of Newark, N. J. v. Burson213 F.2d 487 (5th Cir. 1954)
  3. Johnston Mfg. Co. v. Great American Ins.84 F. Supp. 20 (E.D.S.C. 1949)
  4. Penn Mut. Life Ins. v. Tilton84 F.2d 10 (10th Cir. 1936)
  5. Home Ins. Co. of New York v. Sullivan MacHinery Co.64 F.2d 765 (10th Cir. 1933)
  6. General Motors Acceptance Corp. v. American Ins.50 F.2d 803 (5th Cir. 1931)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 14

DepthCaseCited by
Sweaney & Smith Co. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins., 206 P. 178 (Idaho 1922) 30
Gristock v. Royal Ins., 47 N.W. 549 (Mich. 1890) 14
Snell v. North British & Mercantile Ins., 203 P. 521 (Mont. 1921) 12
Nat'l Union Fire Ins. v. Wright, 257 S.W. 753 (Ark. 1924) 11
Pasherstnik v. Cont'l Ins., 214 P. 603 (Mont. 1923) 8
Twin City Fire Ins. v. Stockmen's Nat. Bank of Ft. Benton, 261 F. 470 (9th Cir. 1919) 23
Cont'l Ins. Co. of City of N.Y. v. Fortner, 25 F.2d 398 (6th Cir. 1928) 19
Home Ins. Co. v. Hightower, 22 F.2d 882 (5th Cir. 1927) 15
Concordia Ins. v. Sch. Dist. No. 98 of Payne Cnty., 40 F.2d 379 (10th Cir. 1930) 14
Alliance Ins. v. Enders, 293 F. 485 (9th Cir. 1923) 14
Firemen's Ins. Co. v. Brooks, 32 F.2d 451 (6th Cir. 1929) 13
Zurich Gen. Accident & Liab. Ins. Co. v. Safe-T-Kros Drug Co., 170 N.E. 351 (Ind. Ct. App. 1930) 8
Harris v. North British & Mercantile Ins., 30 F.2d 94 (5th Cir. 1929) 8
Hitchcock v. State Ins., 72 N.W. 898 (S.D. 1897) 6

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list