TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Augusta Insurance & Banking Co. v. Abbott

The Augusta Insurance and Banking Company of Georgia v. Edwin A. Abbott

Augusta Ins. & Banking Co. v. Abbott, 12 Md. 348 (1858)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Court of Appeals of Maryland · State Highest Courts
Decided
July 22, 1858
Judges
Bartol, Eccleston, Tuck
Citations
12 Md. 3481858 Md. LEXIS 33
Headnotes
A policy of insurance is not a negotiable security, and the general clause, “for whom it concerns,” only avails' for the person for whose benefit it was,-intended when obtained, by the party obtaining it, and whether it was so intended for one claiming the benefit of it, is a question of fact for the jury. Where a policy provides that it shall be void, “in case of its being assigned or transferred or pledged without the previous consents in writing, of the insurers,” an assignment without such consent confers no right upon the assignee. 'So far as good faith in obtaining the insurance is Concerned, a polity issued “for whom it concerns,’* stands on the same ground as any other; for every such policy supposes an agency, and one who claims the benefit 6f it,- is bound by the acts ahd representations of the parties or agents Cohneeted with the business of proinring it, although obtained without his knowledge. If any misrepresentdtioil of ioUiedlinent of.factS material to the risk be shown on the part of the agents or parties obtaining such a policy, it is void, no matter how innocent the party for whom it was intended may be, and no matter whether such misrepresentation or concealment be fraudulent, or' the result of negligence or inadvertehce on the part of such agents of parties. The utmost good faith and fair dealing fire of the very essence of the contract of insüffince, and every fact and circumstance which can possibly influence the mind of any prudent and intelligent insurer, in determining whether he will underwrite the policy at all, or at what premium, ought to be communicated t6 him. A statement made to the insurers, that the vessel “is about réady to sail,” or “she will sail soon,” is not a promissory representation as to the time Ot sailing, which binds the assured and the breach of which will vitiate the policy. In answer to the question, “what is the condition of the vessel as to seaworthiness?” a representation that she is a “good old vessel,” imports no more than that she is seaworthy. Whore a representation is made merely on information, the assured is not answerable for the truth of the facts stated, but only for the truth with which he has staled the information received. In a policy on a cargo of lumber, the implied warranty is, that the vessel is seaworthy to transport such a cargo, and a statement to the insurers, that on a previous voyage she had carried a cargo of coal without insurance, did not enlarge that warranty so as to require the insured to prove she was seaworthy to carry coal. The difference between a representation and a warranty is, that while the latter must be literally fulfilled, it is sufficient if the former be substantially complied with. Seaworthiness is an implied warranty in every contract of insurance, and the assured need not, in the first instance, disclose any fact however material to the risk, which tends to show the ship was unseaworthy when she sailed. But when inquiries are made as to matters embraced in an implied warranty, such inquiries may render it necessary for the assured or his agent to disclose facts respecting which he might otherwise be silent. An inquiry, “what is the condition of the vessel as to seaworthiness?” i§ general and indefinite, not pointing to any particular fact, and imports nd more than an inquiry as to whether she was seaworthy. Such an inquiry imposed no obligation Upon the assured, to disclose facts tending to show the insufficiency of the vessel to carry a cargo of coal, or that she had been discredited by the marine insurance reports of the port where she was lying, or that ineffectual attempts had befen made to get her insured there. It is well settled that the assured is not bouhd to disclose the fact, that the risk has been declined by others or the estimate they put upon it, unless information on the subject be particularly called for. Under a policy on a cargo of lumber “at and from Baltimore to Bostoh,” the risk commences from the time the lumber is laden on board the vessel, and a deviation thereafter will avoid the policy, whether it occurs before or after the vessel actually leaves the port of departure. A deviation avoids the policy because it varies the risk, and delay in commencing of prosecuting the voyage is as much a deviation as a divergence from its prescribed course, and will discharge the underwriters if unreasonable or inexcusable, and this rule applies as well to a policy on cargo as on the vessel. Not to deviate is as much an implied warranty in every insurance OK '& voyage, as the seaworthiness of the vessel, and each of these warranties is implied whether the policy bo on the ship or on the cargo. A-delay, from the 19th of November to the 22nd of December, in commencing the voyage, is unreasonable, amounts to a deviation, and will discharge the policy on the cargo unless it proceeds from causes which justify or excuse it. What the actual causes of delay are, is a question of fact for the jury; the legal sufficiency of such causes, to justify or excuse it must be decided by the court. Delay resulting from the difficulty in obtaining a crew is excusable; but if occasioned by proceedings instituted in the Circuit Court of the United States, in admiralty; for the recovery of debts due for repairs to the ves» sel, by which she was seized, detained and sold, it is not excusable-. The underwriter does not run the risk of obstructions occasioned by thb debts, insufficient acquittance, or neglect to pay debts of the assured, and this rule applies whether the policy be on the vessel or on the cargo; detention for such cause is not covered by the terms, “restraints and detainments of all kings, princes or people,” Where a delay in commencing the voyage is occasioned by debts of the vessel previously existing, and contracted without reference to the particular voyage; and the owner of the cargo insured is on the spot, the master cannot sell or hypothecate the same to pay such debts, except with the consent and authority of such owner, whom he must consult. A prayer, after stating certain facts hypothetically as the basis of the legal propositions, contains the clause, “and if the jury shall find all other facts assumed hy this prayer,” Held, that this clause is objectionable as tending to mislead thfe jury-; and Vitiates a prayer otherwise good. The refusal of the court in a trial of á cause at nisi prius, to permit counsel to read to the jury the latV fiom books, is a matter within the discretion of the court, and is not a subject of appeal.
Summary
Appeal from the Superior Court of Baltimore city. Assumpsit brought on the 10th of December 1853, by the appellee against the appellant, on a policy of insurance under» written by the defendants through its agents, Page and Banks, at Boston, on a cargo of lumber, to the amount of $3500, per Brig Orb, at and from Baltimore to Boston. Plea non assumpsit. The policy is dated the 28th of October 1852, and insures «Parker Fall for whom it concerns, $3500 on lumber, viz., .$3200 under deck, and $300 on deck, per Brig Orb, at and from Baltimore to Boston,” and by it the insurers “confessing themselves paid the consideration due unto them for this insurance by the insured, at and after the rate of one per cent and three per cent on deck,” take upon themselves perils “of the seas, fire, enemies, pirates, assailing thieves, restraints and detainments of all kings, princes or people, of what nation or quality soever, barratry of the master, (unless the insured be owner of the vessel,) and of mariners and all other losses and misfortunes, which have or shall come to the damage of the said property, or any part thereof, to which insurers are liable by the rules and customs of insurance in Boston;” “and in case of loss, such loss shall be paid in sixty days after proof and adjustment thereof, the amount of the premium note if unpaid, and all sums due to the company from the insured, when such loss becomes due, being first deducted.” It was also agreed, among other stipulations, “that in case of capture or detention, the insured shall not have the right to abandon therefor, until proof is exhibited of condemnation, or of the continuance of the detention (by capture or other arrest,) for, at least, ninety days,” and “that the insurers shall not be answerable for any charge, damage or loss, which may arise in consequence of seizure or detention for or on account of illicit or prohibited trade,” and ‘■‘■that this policy shall be void in case of its being assigned, transferred or pledged, without the previous consent, in writing, of the insurers.” On the back of this policy was the following endorsement or assignment: “Baltimore, 18th November 1852. I hereby transfer all my right and interest in the within policy to E. A. Abbott, for myself and other owners,” (signed) “John JET. Frisbie,” in the hand-writing of one of the plaintiff’s clerks, except the words “for myself and other owners,” and the signature, which were in the hand-writing of Frisbie the captain, and, at that time, part owner of the vessel. One of the grounds upon which the action was resisted was, that this assignment was illegal, not having been made “with the previous consent in writing of the insurers,” according to the condition of the policy. The lumber was ladened on board the Orb, by the 19th of November 1852, and she sailed on the 22nd of December following, was wrecked in Hampton Roads on the 3rd of January 1853, and by this disaster, loss and damage resulted to the cargo. The defences were, that the policy had been discharged, 1st, by that kind of delay, in the inception of the voyage, which amounted to deviation in construction of law; 2nd, because of misrepresentation as to the time of sailing; 3rd, because of misrepresentation and concealment of material facts as to the condition of the Orb, which, if they had been truly communicated to the defendant’s agents, would have caused the risk to have been declined or the premium enhanced; and 4th, because the policy was not certainly intended to cover the cargo of the plaintiff, who had therefore, no such interest in the policy as to give him a right of action upon it. Evidence upon all these points was offered by both parties, and is sufficiently indicated in the instructions acted on by the court below, the arguments of counsel, and the opinion of this court. The letter of Frisbie to Fall, so frequently referred to, is as follows: ' “Baltimore, October 20th, 1852. Mr. Fall: Dear Sir: — I have taken up two or three times with lumber for Boston, and have to give it up on account of insurance, they cannot get her insured at no price, and I could not get the coal freight to Providence; there was one man said he would load her without insurance, and I waited for him two weeks, and was to commence (his morning, and his partner came home and would not let him ship it. I should like for you to see Mr. Mayo, and see what can be done, I do not know of any thing but to go down the bay and buy a load of wood, there is a cargo of plank here already, if you can get it insured, telegraph to Win. Rhodes as soon as you receive this, and I will have her loaded up and pay her expenses, which I cannot pay without. I have written two or three times before. Respectfully Yours, John H. Frisbie.” lsi Exception. The plaintiff offered the following prayers: 1st. That the law presumes that the Orb was seaworthy, for the performance of the voyage from Baltimore to Boston, given in evidence in this case, until the contrary is proven, and that the burthen of proof of her unseaworthiness for the performance of said voyage, is upon the defendant. 2nd. If the jury believe from the evidence, that at the inception of the voyage mentioned in the evidence, the Orb was sufficiently tight, staunch and strong, for the performance of the voyage from Baltimore to Boston, with the cargo of lumber mentioned in the evidence, and that she was properly officered, manned and equipped for the performance of said voyage with said cargo, and that on said voyage, through storm and perils of the sea the said cargo was lost in whole or in part, the plaintiff is entitled to recover in this case to the extent of such loss, although the jury shall believe from the evidence, that there was delay or negligence upon the part of the captain of said vessel in commencing said voyage. The defendant then offered the following prayers: 1st. That the plaintiff cannot recover if the jury believe from the evidence, that when the Orb sailed from Baltimore in December 1852, she was not a sufficiently sound and staunch vessel for the voyage, at that season of the year from Baltimore to Boston, with the cargo insured, or if the jury find from the evidence that sire was not supplied at that time, nor afterwards with such sails, chains and anchors, as were proper precautions for a vessel of her loimage, in view of the ordinary and probable perils of said voyage. 2nd. That there was an implied warranty by the plaintiff, that the voyage should be made in the usual and direct course for seaworthy vessels, conveying from Baltimore to Boston such cargo as was the subject of insurance in the policy in suit, and any deviation can only be justified by necessity or lawful cause. 3rd. If the jury believe from the evidence, that the Orb was seaworthy for the purpose of lying in port, that her cargo was on board by the 19th of November 1852, that repairs and supplies had been ordered and contracted for by her master and owners, and had beeu done and furnished before the 20th of November 1852, that by reason of the refusal or inability of said master and owners, to pay for such supplies and repairs, the vessel was seized, detained and sold, under the libel and decree of the Circuit Court of the United States for the District of Maryland, given in evidence, so that she did not in fact sail' from Baltimore, by some days, as soon as she would have done in case she had not been so seized and sold, then the plaintiff' cannot recover, provided the jury find all the other facts assumed in this prayer, and that no effort to pay for said repairs and discharge said libels was made by the master, by sale or hypothecation of the cargo to a sufficient extent, and that no loss or damage occurred to the cargo insured before the 2nd of January 1853. 4th. If the jury believe from the evidence, that it would have varied the risk and premium, accordingly as the vessel sailed in November or December 1852, so that the risk would have been declined, or a higher premium charged, if it had been known to the defendant’s agents at Boston that the Orb would' not sail sooner than the 20th of December 1852, and that this was known at the time of the application for the policy sued-on by both Parker Fall and defendant’s said agents, and that with a view of deciding on this contingency, said agents did ask Fall, when he applied for said policy, when the Orb would sail from Baltimore, and that Fall then represented that she would sail soon, and that the cargo insured wac in fact ladened on the vessel by the 19th of November 1852, and that full,, reasonable and sufficient time, to have been expected by the parties to the contract, for the commencement of the voyage had elapsed by the 25th of November 1852, then the plaintiff cannot recover, if the jury find that the Orb did not sail from-Baltimore before the 20th of December 1852. from the causes given in evidence, provided they find that no loss or damage occurred to the cargo insured before the 2nd of January 1853, and also find all other facts assumed in this prayer. 5th. If the jury believe from the evidence, that Fall applied to defendant’s agents at Boston, for tire policy sued on by direction of John H. Frisbie, contained in the letter of said Frisbie, of the 20th of October 1852, given in evidence, and that at the time of such application, said agents enquired of Fall, where the Orb then was, and what was her condition as to seaworthiness? and that, in reply thereto, Pall represented that die Orb was in Baltimore, and was a good old vessel, a.nd on the voyage before she brought a freight of coal from Philadelphia to Charlestown, and on that voyage her cargo was not insured, as the man whom she brought the cargo for never had his cargoes insured as said Fall understood, and that before said letter, of the 20th of October, was written, a cargo of coal which had been put by E. Pratt of Baltimore on board the Orb for conveyance to Providence, had, shortly before the said 20th of October, been necessarily discharged at Baltimore on account of the leaky condition of the vessel whilst said Frisbie was master and part owner of her, and that. Frisbie was then advised not to take another cargo of coal, but to freight the Orb with a cargo of lumber, so that her seaworthiness would not be so severely tried, and that accordingly said Frisbie declined an offer from E. Pratt, before the said 20th of October, to freight the Orb again with coal, after the cargo of coal had been discharged as before stated, and if the jury further lind, that a vessel must be more strong, staunch and seaworthy, to carry a cargo of coal by sea than a cargo of lumber, and that before the said letter of the 20th of October was written, Frisbie knew that the Orb had been characterised in October 1852, as an unseaworthy vessel, by the report of the inspector of ships for the insurance offices at the port of Baltimore, and that when, as before stated, Fall was enquired of as to the seaworthy condition of the Orb, none of the above facts nor the contents of said letter were communicated by him to tile defendant’s agents at Boston, except as hereinbefore expressly stated so to have been communicated, and if the jury believe that if the above facts, or most of them, or the contents of said letter had been then communicated to them, said agents would have declined the risk or enhanced the premium, then the plaintiff cannot recover, provided the jury believe the premium had never been paid to the defendant, and all other facts assumed in this prayer, and if they believe the premium has been paid, then the plaintiff is only entitled to recover that and its appropriate interest, in case no fraud was intended by the parties applying for the policy, by the representations made and failure to disclose their information. 6th. If the jury believe from the evidence, that matters material to the risk as aifecting the seaworthiness of the Orb, and .which would have affected the premium or caused the insurance to be declined by the defendant’s agents, when application was made for the policy in suit, were either known to Fall or Frisbie, so that they could with reasonable diligence have been communicated to said agents at that time by either of them, and if the jury believe that such facts were not, in fact., communicated to said agents then or before the loss proved in evidence, and that when said application was made, said agents enquired of Fall where the Orb then was, and what was her condition as to seaworthiness, then the plaintiff cannot recover, provided the jury believe the premium was never paid to defendant, and all the facts assumed in this prayer, and also believe that the application was made by reason of the said letter of the 20th of October, and in case they believe the premium has been paid, the plaintiff is only entitled to recover that with its proper interest in the absence of fraud. 7th. That the assured was under an implied warranty that ..the vessel should sail on her voyage with all safe, convenient and practicable expedition, and that if this was not done by reason of the acts of her master or owners, in not providing .funds for repairs and supplies furnished said vessel, and if the jury find there was no effort made to obviate this delay, by sale or hypothecation of the cargo in whole or in part, by either master or owner of the Orb, then the plaintiff cannot recover, provided the jury believe that the loss occurred after said vessel sailed in fact, and that the premium was hever paid to the defendant, and all other facts assumed in this prayer, and in case the jury believe the premium has been paid, then the plaintiff is not entitled to recover, if they find that the delay of the voyage occurred after the 19th of November 1852. The court (Frick, J.) granted both the plaintiff’s prayers, and also the first prayer of the defendant, but rejected all the defendant’s other prayers, and the defendant, excepted to the granting of the plaintiff’s second prayer, and to the rejection of its prayers. 2nd. Exception. After the evidence had been closed on both sides, and the action of the court as stated in the preceding exception, the plaintiff’s counsel opened the case to the jury, was followed by the junior counsel for the defendant, and the senior counsel for the defendant then addressed the jury till the adjournment of the court for the day, without concluding, and on the succeeding morning before continuing his argument, offered the defendant’s eighth prayer as follows: 8th. If the jury believe from the evidence, that when Fall applied for the policy sued on, he was asked by the defendant’s agent at Boston, to whom he applied as to the then condition of the Orb as to seaworthiness, and that Fall was then making said application by virtue of the instructions contained in the letter of Frisbie, given in evidence under date of the 20th of October 1852, and that said letter contained facts or implications connected with the condition of the Orb, at that time, as to seaworthiness, which were not communicated to the insurer’s agents at Boston by Fall, and which would, if they had been communicated, have induced the underwriters either to decline the risk dr to enhance the premium, and if the jury find that the premium has not yet been paid to the defendant, then the plaintiff cannot recover, though Fall had no fraudulent or deceptive motive in what he did or did not do, provided the jury find all the other facts assumed in this prayer, and if the jury find the premium has been paid, then the plaintiff is only entitled to recover that and its appropriate interest, in case they believe no fraud was intended in the failure to communicate the material information to the underwriter. The counsel for the plaintiff then stated, they would expect to be heard on this prayer, if the court saw fit to entertain it at all; but the court rejected the prayer, as well because it was offered too lates under the rules of the court, as because it was not the law of the case. To this ruling the defendant excepted. 3rd. Exception. After the trial had progressed; as stated in the preceding exceptions, the senior counsel for the defendant, in the progress of his argument of the facts before the jury, proposed to read to the jury Chancellor Kent’s opinion or doctrine on a matter of law involved in the case, as expressed in better language than his own, which being objected to by the other side, the court refused to permit, under the invariable practice of that court since its institution, the law to be read from books, conceding and offering the right of the counsel to state the law to the jury, subject to an appeal to the court if dissented from by the other party. To this refusal and ruling the defendant excepted. The verdict was in favor of the plaintiff for $3374.56, damages, with interest and costs, and from the judgment thereon rendered the defendant appealed.

Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.

Opinion of the Court — Bartol

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

Bartol, J.,

delivered the opinion of this court.

This action was instituted by the appellee, on a policy of insurance made by the appellant, upon a cargo of lumber per brig Orb, at and from Baltimore to Boston. The policy was issued in the name of ££Parker Fall, for whom it concerns;” and the first question presented for our consideration is, whether the appellee has such an interest in the policy as to give him a right of action upon it? The evidence shows that the brig was lying at the port of Baltimore, and that Frisbie, the captain and part owner, employed Parker Fall, as his agent at Boston, to obtain insurance on a cargo of lumber, in order to enable him to procure freight for the vessel; that the appellee had told Frisbie he would freight the brig with lumber if an insurance could be obtained upon it, but did not expressly authorize either Frisbie or Fail to obtain the policy in question, nor had he any knowledge of it until after it was issued, when he adopted it,, and, upon the faith of it, placed his cargo on board.

The assignment of the policy by Frisbie to Abbott, made on the 18th day of November 1852, not being made “-with the *373 previous consent inwriting of the insurers,” as required Ity its terms, conferred no right upon the assignee, and his interest in the contract must be determined as if that assignment, had not been made.

The law is Well settled, that a policy of insurance is not a negotiable security. The Court of Appeals have said, that “A policy in the name of one, with the general clause for whom it may concern, will cover and protect the interest of any person for whose benefit it was intended, and who authorized it to be effected; and if, in the absence of any express order or authority from the owner, or any previous communication with him on the subject, such policy is effected in his behalf, the intention at the time of the party effecting it to cover his particular interest, will so connect him with the policy as that his adoption of it afterwards, will cause it to inure to his benefit. The subsequent adoption of a policy by a party interested, and for Whose benefit it was intended, being deemed equivalent to his prior order for insurance. But no one can, by subsequent adoption, avail himself of such a poliejr who was not at the time in the contemplation of the party procuring the insurance, and for whose benefit it was not intended, notwithstanding any interest he may have in the thing insured.” Newson’s Admr. vs. Douglass, 7 H. & J., 451, 452 .

In this case it is contended, on the part of the appellant, that the pol^ on which the action was brought, was not, intended to cover the particular cargo of Abbott; but that it was procured at the instance of Captain Frisbie, for the purpose of enabling him to obtain freight, and was designed to cover any cargo of lumber which he might obtain for the vessel, no matter from whom. If that be so, then upon the authority cited, the appellee cannot maintain his action upon it.

But it is properly a question for the jury to determine, from the evidence, whether the policy in question was or was not designed, when obtained, to cover the particular cargo of the appellee, and the Superior Court erred in taking that question from the jury. The second prayer of the plaintiff, which was granted by the court, treated the policy as if it had been issued to Abbott himself, or in his own name.

*374 The next question presented by the record, is whether, in obtaining the policy, there was misrepresentation or concealment of material facts connected with the condition of the vessel? This depends upon the particular facts and circumstances which attended the obtaining of the policy; but before proceeding to an examination of them, it is proper to say that we do not concur in the view taken by the appellee’s counsel in the argument, “that a difference exists between such a case as this and the case where a party desiring insurance applies for it by himself or his agent.” So far as the question of good faith in obtaining the insurance is concerned, the case where the policy is issued “for whom, it may concern,” stands upon the same ground as if the name of the assured were inserted. “Every such policy supposes an agency;” ( 7 H. & J., 450 ;) no one can avail himself of it, but he for whom it is intended, and although obtained without his knowledge, and without any previous authority to the agent, its adoption by him after-wards, binds him to the acts and representations of the parties or agents connected with the business of procuring it, to the same extent as if they had acted under his authority previously given. See Park on Insurance, 208.

In this case, therefore, the appellee is responsible for the acts of both Frisbie and Fall, in their dealings with the company, and if any misrepresentation or concealment of facts material to the risk, be shown on the part of either of them, the policy would be void, no matter how innocent the appellee might be in the transaction; and no matter whether such misrepresentation or concealment be fraudulent, or result from negligence or inadvertence on the part of the agents connected with the business of procuring the insurance. 12 Wheaton, 412 . 4 Mason’s Rep., 74. 1 Term, 12. 3 Kent, 286.

This results from the nature of the contract: “The utmost good faith and fair dealing are of its very essence, and every fact and circumstance which can possibly influence the mind of any prudent and intelligent insurer, in determining whether he will underwrite the policy at all, or at what premium he will underwrite it, ought to be communicated to him.” 2 G. & J., 162 .

*375 In this case, the representations of Parker Fall to the agent of the appellant, were made in answer to the question, “ Where is the Orb, and what is her condition as to seaworthiness?” The reply was, “She is at Baltimore, about ready to sail, (or she will sail soon.) She is a good old vessel; on the voyage before, she brought a freight of coal from Philadelphia to Charlestown, and the cargo was not insured; that the man for whom she brought the coal, never had his cargoes insured, as I understood.”

The policy was dated the 28th day of October 1852; the vessel did not sail till the 22nd day of December 1852.

The objection of the appellant, that the statement made as to the time of sailing, was a promissory representation which bound the assured, and that the breach of it vitiates the policy, is conclusively answered by the decision of the Court of Appeals, in the case of Allegre's Admr. vs. The Maryland Ins. Co., 2 G. & J., 159 , and was abandoned by the counsel in the argument. The time of sailing is not, therefore, material in the consideration of this branch of the case. As to the statement that she was “a good old vessel,” according to our construction of those words, they import no more than that she was seaworthy, a fact the truth of which it was proper to submit to the jury upon all the evidence; but that is embraced in the implied warranty, and does not stand upon representation, which is always matter outside of the policy.

It has been argued that the statement made by Fall, “that the Orb had carried a cargo of coal on her previous voyage from Philadelphia to Charlestown for a man who did not insure,” &c., was equivalent to a representation that she was then capable of transporting such a cargo, and that there was evidence tending to show the same was not true. In support of this construction the counsel cited 1 Phillips on Insurance, sec. 567, where the principle is staled, “that, a representation imports not only what is expressed, but also all the natural and obvious inferences from it.” Without impugning the principle, it is sufficient to say, we do not consider that it sustains the view contended for here. It is not pretended the particular fact, stated was untrue; besides, the statement was *376 made merely on information, and in such case the assured “is not answerable for the truth of the facts stated,- but only for the truth with which he has stated the information received.” 1 Arnould, sec. 193.

Nor did that statement, in our opinion, operate to change the contract. The policy issued was on a cargo of lumber;, the implied warranty was that the Orb was seaworthy for the transportation of such a cargo, and the statement made to the agent of the underwriter did not enlarge that warranty so as to require the assured to prove that the brig was seaworthy for the transportation of coal at the time of the contract. The difference between a representation and a warranty,-is,-that while the latter must be literally fulfilled, it is sufficient if the former be substantially complied with. In the language of Lord Mansfield, in 1 Term Rep., 345, “A representation may be equitably and substantially answered; but a warranty must be strictly complied with.”

Having disposed of the question of allegatio falsi, we have next to consider whether there was suppressio veri in obtaining the policy? It is undoubtedly true that a concealment of facts material to the risk, which the assured is bound to communicate, stands upon the same ground and has the same effect as a statement of material facts which are untrue, and will avoid the policy, whether such concealment be through design or from inadvertence. This brings us to the inquiry, what facts is the assured bound to communicate?

In this case the alleged concealment has reference entirely to matters touching the seaworthiness of the vessel, or going to show that the risk had been declined by others. The authorities all agree, that “if the subject on which disclosures would otherwise be requisite, be covered by a warranty either express or implied, in that case it need not be matter of representation.” (3 Kent, 286.) “And as in every contract of insurance there is an implied warranty of seaworthiness, the assured need not, in the first instance, disclose any fact, however material to the risk, which tends to show that the ship was unseaworthy when she sailed.” Haywood vs. Rodgers, 4 East, 597. 1 Arnould, 56.

*377 It is true this rule is changed when inquiries are made as to matters embraced in an implied warranty. Such inquiries may render it necessary for the insured, or his agent, to disclose facts respecting which he might otherwise be silent. (See 1 Phillips, sec. 601. 1 Arnould, 518. And i-t has been argued that the inquiry addressed to Fall, in this case, “What is the •condition of the Orb as to seaworthiness?” imposed upon him the obligation -of disclosing—

1st. The contents of Frisbie’s letter of the 20th of October.

2nd. The facts and circumstances which had occurred in the port of Baltimore, tending to show the insufficiency of the brig t.o carry coal.

3rd. The fact that the marine reports in Baltimore had discredited her as unseaworthy.

It is clear that there was no obligation upon the assured, or his agents, to disclose any of these things, unless particularly interrogated with regard to them. The insurer had an undoubted right to ask for information upon such matters, and if he had done so, the assured would be bound to make true answers to such inquiries; but in this case no such inquiry was made. The question was general and indefinite, not pointing to any particular fact; it imported no more than an inquiry as to whether the Orb was seaworthy, ajad imposed no more obligation upon the assured to disclose the matters alleged to have been concealed, than if no question had been asked. The rule is well settled, that the assured is not. bound to disclose the fact that the risk has been declined by others, or the estimate they put upon it, unless information on the subject be particularly called for. See Ruggles vs. The General Interest Co., 4 Mason, 83 . 3 Kent, 286.

Upon these grounds we are of opinion, that even if the facts and circumstances to which we have referred were all proved, the agents of the assured were not bound to disclose them, and consequently the omission to do so, would not impair the policy. But the letter of Frisbie, and the other facts and circumstances detailed in the evidence, relating to the condition of the Orb, were all proper t.o be submitted to the jury, *378 and considered by them, in deciding the question of the seaworthiness of tiie vessel.

The remaining question to be considered, is, whether the underwriters have been discharged by a deviation 9 The proof in the cause is, that the cargo was laden on board by the 19th of November, and that the vessel did not sail till the 22nd of December, and it is contended that this delay in the sailing of the vessel amounted to a deviation, which discharges the insurer.

This being a policy on a voyage at and from Baltimore to Boston, the risk commenced from the time the lumber was laden on board, and a deviation thereafter will avoid the policy, whether it occurred before or after the vessel actually left the port of departure.

The law on this subject is well slated by Arnould, Vol. 1, page 383, sec. 146. Me says: “As the sole ground upon which a deviation discharges the underwriter, is, that it varies the risk, and as it is evident that the risk may be as much varied by a delay in commencing or prosecuting the voyage, as by a divergence from its prescribed course, it follows that every such delay, if unreasonable or ine.vcused, will discharge the underwriter.” This principle is sustained by the authorities there cited, and recognized in every elementary treatise on insurance.

In this case it is contended, that the insurance being on the cargo, and not on the vessel, and the appellee not being the owner of the brig, and having no control over her, is not responsible, even though the delay amounted to a deviation; and in support of this view the cases in 5 Mees. & Wells., 415, 8 Mees, & Wells., 896, and 2 Gill, 365 , have been cited. But those cases did not involve the question of a deviation; they turned upon the familiar principle causa próxima non remota spectatur, and affirm the rule, that when the immediate cause of the loss is one of the perils insured against, the underwriter is bound, although a remote cause may be negligence or unskilfulness on the part of the captain and crew engaged in navigating the vessel. The cases in 3 Peters, 222 , and in 11 Peters, 224 , are to the same effect.

*379 The law of deviation stands upon entirely different ground. The inquiry is not whether the loss resulted in any manner from the deviation. Park on Ins., 294. The reason why R is held to avoid the policy, is because it changes the risk, and substitutes a different voyage for the one insured against.

It is as much an implied warranty in every insurance on a, voyage, that the ship shall not deviate, as it is that the ship is seaworthy; and each of these warranties is implied, whether the insurance be on the ship or on the cargo. After a careful examination of the numerous authorities cited in the argument, and many others, Ave have been unable to find any one sustaining the distinction so much insisted on at the bar, between the assured on the vessel and on the cargo, where the question of avoiding a policy by deviation has been involved, although in many of the cases such a distinction, if it existed, might have been properly recognized.

The same observation was made by the learned judge who delivered the opinion of the High Court of Errors and Appeals of Mississippi, iu the case of The Natchez Ins. Co. vs. Stanton Buckner & Co., 2 Sm. & Mar. Rep., 340. In that case this question was elaborately considered and decided. An attempt has been made to impugn that decision on the ground that, in some respects, the law of implied warranty therein announced, is contrary to the ruling of the Court of Appeals of this State, in the case in 2 Gill, 365 . Upon an examination of the cases, however, it will be found that so far as the principle we are now considering is concerned, the cases are not in conflict; and we think the law on this point is clearly and properly laid down in the case of The Natchez Ins. Co. vs. Stanton Buckner & Co., and sustained by the whole current of authorities applicable to the subject.

We have no hesitation in saying, that the delay which occurred in the sailing of the Orb, would amount to a deviation which would discharge the underwriters, unless it proceeded from causes which justify or excuse it. 8 Bing., 317. What the actual causes of the delay were, is a question of fact for the jury. The legal sufficiency of such causes to justify or excuse it, must he decided by (he court. 7 H. & J., 291 .

*380 If, as the appellants insist, the delay was occasioned by the proceedings instituted in the Admiralty Court of Baltimore, for the recoveiy of debts due for repairs and supplies done and furnished to the vessel, (hen the delay was not legally justified; or, in other words, the risk of such detention is on the assured, not on the underwriter.

It is laid down in La Guidon de la Mer, “that the under- • writer does not run the risk of obstructions occasioned by the debts, insufficient acquittance, or neglect to pay debts of the assured.” See 1 Phillips, 590 . 3 Kent, 378. And upon a careful consideration of the question, we are of opinion that this rule applies, whether the policy be on the vessel or on the cargo. This follows from the principles regulating the extent of the risk assumed by the insurer, and inasmuch as the vessel and owners are responsible to the shipper, under the contract of affreightment, for any loss which he may suffer from such delay, it is not reasonable to hold the underwriter bound, without some stipulation in the contract to that effect. It is not covered by the terms-in the polic}!', “restraints and detainments of all kings, princes* or people;” for the construction of those Words, seé Park on Ins., 78, 79, 80, 81.

On the other hand, if the delay resulted from the difficulty of obtaining k fcreW, and there is evidence in the record to go to the jury tending to prove that fact, then the delay would be excusable, anti the underwriters remain answerable. 1 Akyns, 545, Motteux vs. London Assur. Co.

Having thus determined the principles which, in our opinion, govern the decision of this case, we shall proceed, in a few words, to dispose of the several prayers presented in the cause, and found in the several bills of exceptions.

The first bill of exceptions contains two prayers on the part of the plaintiff below, and seven on the part of the defendant. The court granted both those of the plaintiff, and rejected all Of those offered by the defendant, except the first.

The first prayer on the part of the plaintiff and of the defendant, respectively, were granted without exception, and are hot before us for review on this appeal.

The second prayer of the plaintiff ought not to have been *381 granted. This follows from what has already been said in (he opinion of this court, and it is unriecessary to repeat here tbo several particulars in which it is erroneous. It withdrew from the jury the consideration of several facts upon the decision of which, in our opinion, the right of the plaintiff to recover depends; and the judgment must therefore be reversed.

The second prayer of the defendant ought to have been granted, the proposition of law therein contained is correct.

With reference to the phraseology of all the other prayers of the defendant, both in the first and second bills of exceptions, we consider it proper to remark, that, in one respect, they are all objectionable. Each of them, after stating certain facts hypothetically as the basis of the legal proposition, contains the words, and if the jury shall find “all other facts assumed by this prayerSuch a clause is unusual in practice, and, we think, objectionable, as tending to mislead the jury. If there are any facts assumed, (he prayer would be erroneous; .if there arc none, then, in any view of them, the words are unnecessary. We are aware of the reason which led the counsel to insert the words, but think they do not accomplish the object designed; and as this is the first time this court has had its attention called to prayers in that form, we deem it proper to say, that in our opinion such a clause forms a substantial objection, and would vitiate a prayer, although in other respects unexceptionable. Prayers in this form were before the court in the case of Hopkins vs. Boyd, 11 Md. Rep., 107 , but no point was made upon tlieir particular phraseology, and it would have had no effect upon the judgment of the court in that case.

The facts upon which the court’s instruction is asked, ought, to be slated in the prayer, otherwise the legal proposition is vague and indefinite, and the jury ought not to be left to speculate and conjecture what facts are assumed by the prayer, and yet. are necessary to be found by them, as the ground of their verdict.

Looking at the defendant’s prayers as if the objectionable clause to which we have referred were stricken out, we are of opinion, for the reasons already given in stating the general *382 principles governing the case, that the 5th- Gth and 8th prayers of the defendant were properly refused. They are based upon the defence set up on the ground of misrepresentation and concealment.

The defendant’s fourth prayer was properly rejected, because it treats the statement made by Parker Fall, “that the brig would sail soon,” as a promissory representation binding upon the assured, which we have said is not its legal effect, or if that be not the true construction of the prayer, it is faulty, because it refers in general terms to the causes of delay “as given in evidence,'1'1 instead of being limited to those which we have said were not sufficient in law to excuse it. There are causes of delay mentioned in the evidence to which we have before referred, which, in the opinion of the court, would justify and excuse it, provided the jury should find they were the actual causes which detained the vessel, to wit, the difficulty of procuring hands at that time in Baltimore.

The defendant’s 3rd and Tth prayers (without the objectionable clause spoken of) should be granted; they are in conformity with the principles which have been stated on the question of deviation. But in the expression of this opinion, we are not to be understood as deciding that the captain of the brig had the power of selling or hypothecating the cargo, or any part of it, for the purpose of paying the debts of the vessel previously existing and contracted without reference to the particular voyage, and unconnected therewith. Such sale or hypothecation, under the circumstances of this case, could only have been made by the master, with the consent and authority of the appellee, who was on the spot, and whom it was the duty of the captain to consult. See Abbott on Shipping, 243. But whether such efforts to sell or hypothecate the cargo were made or not, it is sufficient to say, that in the opinion of this court the detention of the vessel by the causes referred to in these prayers, if the jury should find they were the causes of her delay, was a risk of the assured, and not one assumed by the underwriters under the contract.

The second bill of exceptions is taken from the refusal of the court below to grant the defendant’s 8th prayer, and we *383 have already said that such ruling was correct, for one of the reasons assigned by that court, to wit, “because it was not the iaw of the case;” and we deem it unnecessary to express any further opinion thereon.

(Decided July 22nd, 1858.)

With reference to the question presented by the third bill of exceptions, we deem it sufficient to say, that in conducting trials at nisi prim, many things necessarily depend upon the discretion of the court, and we think the ruling of the Superior Court, to which this exception was taken, was on a matter within its discretion, and that no appeal lies therefrom.

Judgment reversed and procedendo awarded.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

Cited by 11 cases

View all citing references →
1879–1880: 11883–1884: 11895–1896: 11899–1900: 11911–1912: 11925–1926: 11929–1930: 11933–1934: 11973–1974: 11977–1978: 12013–2014: 118792026peak 1879 · 1

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Estate of Morrison242 P. 939 (Cal. 1926)
  2. Turnbull v. Home Fire Insurance34 A. 875 (Md. 1896)
  3. McGraw v. Germania Fire Insurance19 N.W. 927 (Mich. 1884) · Dissent
  4. Peoples Life Insurance v. Jerrell318 A.2d 519 (Md. 1974)
  5. Turner v. Eagan81 A. 877 (Md. 1911)
  6. Poventud v. City of New York715 F.3d 57 (2d Cir. 2013)

Most recent

  1. Poventud v. City of New York715 F.3d 57 (2d Cir. 2013)
  2. International Barges, Inc. v. Kerr-McGee Corp.579 F.2d 1204 (10th Cir. 1978)
  3. Peoples Life Insurance v. Jerrell318 A.2d 519 (Md. 1974)
  4. Liberty Mutual Insurance v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co.164 A. 179 (Md. 1933)
  5. Boston Iron & Metal Co. v. Automobile Insurance145 A. 501 (Md. 1929)
  6. Estate of Morrison242 P. 939 (Cal. 1926)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 8

DepthCaseCited by
Newson's Adm'r. v. Douglass, 7 H. & J. 417 (1826) 21
Ga. Ins. & Trust Co. v. Dawson, 2 Gill 365 (1844) 4
Waters v. Merchants' Louisville Ins., 36 U.S. (11 Pet.) 213 (1837) 98
Patapsco Ins. v. Coulter, 28 U.S. (3 Pet.) 222 (1830) 42
Gen. Interest Ins. v. Ruggles, 25 U.S. (12 Wheat.) 408 (1827) 35
Riggin v. Patapsco Ins., 7 H. & J. 279 (1826) 9
Hopkins v. Boyd, 11 Md. 107 (1857) 8
Allegre's Adm'rs v. Md. Ins., 2 G. & J. 136 (1830) 3

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list