TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Scottish Union & National Insurance v. Keene

THE SCOTTISH UNION AND NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY OF EDINBURGH v. LEO KEENE, Surviving Partner of DANIEL LANGFELD

Scottish Union & Nat'l Ins. v. Keene, 37 A. 33 (Md. 1897)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Court of Appeals of Maryland · State Highest Courts
Decided
March 31, 1897
Judges
Boyd, Bryan, Fowler, McSherry, Roberts
Citations
37 A. 3385 Md. 2631897 Md. LEXIS 55
Syllabus
Fire Insurance — Proof of Loss When Books are Destroyed — Conditions of Policy — Examination of the Assured — Signing the Examination — Evidence. A policy of fire insurance on certain goods provided that in the event of a loss the assured should furnish a detailed statement of the stock and materials on hand at the time of the fire, setting forth the cash value of each item thereof and the extent to which each article was damaged. The property covered by the policy was totally destroyed by fire as were also most of the books of the assured, who was consequently unable to make the precise statement called for by the policy. The books saved from the fire were the day-book, showing the amount of sales, the purchase-book showing the amount of merchandise bought for eleven months prior to the fire, and a book showing the amount paid out for manufacturing during this period. Held, ist. That from these books and testimony as to .the usual profit made on sales, the plaintiff (the assured) was entitled to prove the value of the goods on hand at the time of the fire, since such proof showed the amount of his loss with a reasonable degree of certainty, and was legally sufficient to enable the jury to find the amount of the loss suffered. 2nd. That under the circumstances of the destruction of all the property and most of the plaintiff’s books, he was not required to furnish to the insurer a statement showing exactly all of the property contained in the building covered by the policy, and the cash value of each item and the amount of loss thereon. 3rd. That if the jury should find that the plaintiff’s loss exceeded in amount the whole of the insurance upon the property described in the policy, he is entitled to recover the full amount mentioned in the policy. Where the assured is a manufacturer and all the stock of goods on hand as well as most of his books are destroyed by fire, the amount of the loss may be shown by proving the total value of all goods during the year, the amount of sales, and the usual profit on sales during that and previous years. Where a policy provides that after a loss the assured shall submit to an examination under oath by an agent of the insurer and subscribe the same, and the assured does submit to an examination, but does not subscribe the report thereof because not correct, and no demand for a subscription is made by the insurer upon the assured, such failure to subscribe the report of the examination is not a bar to an action on the policy. The policy in this case provided that thé assured should, as often as required, submit to examination under oath by any person named by the company and subscribe the same. The assured was examined by an adjuster, but did not sign the stenographic report thereof. There was no evidence that this adjuster had been named by the insurer. Held, that evidence that the adjuster refused to allow the assured to correct errors in the examination was irrelevant. Evidence as to what was said by the adjuster of the company when he handed to the adjuster of the assured a copy of the examination of the latter, is not admissible. The policy sued on in this case provided that if a fire occurred the assured should furnish a copy of all descriptions and schedules in all policies. Defendant’s policy was for $5,000. Plaintiff’s proof of loss gave the names of sixteen other companies insuring the same property with their respective dates and amounts, showing a total insurance of $40,000 and a total loss of $44,000, and stated that full copies of the written portions of all other policies were thereto annexed or would be furnished on demand. Held, that this condition of the policy was substantially complied with. The statements contained in the proofs of loss furnished by the assured to the company are not evidence of the fact or extent of the loss.
Summary
Appeal from a judgment of the Superior Court of Baltimore City (Ritchie, J.) The conditions of the policy of insurance sued on, which are referred to in the opinion of the Court, are as follows : “ If fire occur the insured shall give immediate notice of any loss thereby in writing to this company, protect the property from further damage, forthwith separate the damaged and undamaged personal property, put it in the best possible order, make a complete inventory of the same, stating the quantity and cost of each article and the amount claimed thereon; and within sixty days after the fire, unless such time is extended in writing by this company, shall render a statement to this company, signed and sworn to by said insured, stating the knowledge and belief of the insured as to the time and origin of the fire; the interest of the insured and of all others in the property, the cash value of each item thereof and the amount of loss thereon; all incumbrances thereon ; all other insurance, whether valid or not, covering any of said property; and a copy of all the descriptions and schedules in all policies.” “The insured, as often as required, shall exhibit to any person designated by this company all that remains of any property herein designated, and submit to examinations under oath by any person named by this company, and subscribe the same; and, as often as required, shall produce for examination all books of account, bills, invoices and other vouchers or certified copies thereof if originals be lost, at such reasonable places as may be designated by this company or its representative, and shall permit extracts and copies thereof to be made.” The summary of the statement of loss furnished by the plaintiff was as follows : Stock on hand Jan. ist, 1893. .$ 22,131 46 Merchandise purchased' from Jan. 1, 1893, to date of fire. 107,821 00 Cost of manufacturing........ 35,311 °4 $165,263 50 Total amount of sales from Jan. 1, 1893, to Dec. 2, 1893. .$169,215 25 Less 40 per cent, profits...... 48,347 00 $120,868 25 44,395 25 Freight, cartage, expressage, &c., 1 per cent.......•..... 443 95 Total loss............. $ 44,839 20 Machinery, sound value, $4,310, loss..............$ 4,310 Furniture and fixtures, sound value, $956, loss......... 956 At the trial the first exception was taken to the ruling of the Court in permitting the following question to be asked the plaintiff's bookkeeper, who was a witness : “ Could you tell the jury what the average profits of Langfeld & Co. were at the time of starting in 1885 down to 1893, inclusive of 1893; the average? To this question the witness replied : “ The average is always about the same; the only difference is in the volume of business.” The second exception was taken to the action of the Court in allowing the same witness to answer the question : “ Yoü were with Wiesenfeld & Co., and with the knowledge you acquired in other branches of manufacturing clothing and articles of that sort is the profit of 40 per cent, a reasonable or unreasonable one ?” In the third exception the plaintiff was allowed, against the objection of the defendant, to answer the question: “ What profit, can you tell from memory, was made by you as to the average, that is as to the percentage of profits, from 1885 to 1893 ?” The other exceptions are stated in the opinion of the Court. The plaintiff offered the following prayers : Plaintiff’s 1st Prayer. — If the jury find that the defendant made the policy of insurance offered in evidence, and delivered the same to the plaintiff; and if they further find that the property described in the said policy, and so insured, was totally destroyed by fire on or about the second day of December, 1893 ; and that the defendant had notice of the fire at the time thereof, and that the plaintiff did furnish the proofs of loss referred to in the evidence, together with the certificate of the magistrate referred to, and did furnish, so far as it was possible for him so to do, an inventory of the property destroyed by fire aforesaid, stating the quantity and cost of each article and the amount claimed thereon; and did furnish, so far as it was possible for him so to do, the cash value of each item and the amount of loss thereon ; and did also furnish the copy of all the descriptions and schedules in all policies, then the plaintiff is entitled to recover in this action. But if the jury find that the plaintiff did not furnish substantially, so far as it was possible for him to do so under the circumstances, an inventory of the property destroyed, stating the quantity and cost of each article, and the amount claimed thereon, and the cash value of each item and the amount of loss thereon, then the plaintiff is not entitled to recover. (Granted). Plaintiff's 2nd Prayer. — If the jury find that the plaintiff submitted to the examination referred to in the policy given in evidence, but did not subscribe the stenographic statement thereof, when reduced to writing, because the same was full of errors, if they so find, and that no demand for such subscription was ever made by the defendant on said plaintiff, and no insistance upon such subscription made known to the plaintiff by said defendant, then the excuse for not signing such statement, if so found by the jury, is sufficient in law, and the plaintiff is entitled to recover in this action, provided the jury shall find the facts stated in the first prayer of the plaintiff. (Granted). Plaintiff’s ffh Prayer. — That if the verdict of the jury is for the plaintiff, the juiy, in estimating the damages, must find the actual cash value of the whole property destroyed at the time of the fire, as given in evidence, and if the jury shall find that the whole loss of the plaintiff exceeded in amount the whole amount of the insurance on the property described in the policy as insured in the seventeen companies referred to in the evidence, then their verdict should be for the full amount insured in the policy in suit. (Granted). And the defendant offered the following prayers : Defendant's ist Prayer. — That upon the pleadings and evidence in this case the plaintiff is not entitled to recover, because it appears from the evidence offered on behalf of the plaintiff, that the said plaintiff never rendered to the defendant such a proof of loss as is in the policy offered in evidence required to be rendered, although the rendering of the same was duly demanded by the defendant, and their verdict must be for the defendant. (Rejected). Defendant's 2nd Prayer. — That upon the pleadings and evidence in this case the plaintiff is not entitled to recover, because, it appears from the uncontradicted testimony offered on behalf of the plaintiff, that plaintiff did not render the defendant within sixty days after said fire, nor at any time, thereafter, a statement containing the cash value of each item of property alleged by the plaintiff to have been injured or destroyed by said fire, and the amount of loss thereon, as in and by said policy offered in evidence he was required to do, although the said defendant demanded the same, and their verdict must be for the defendant. (Rejected). Defendant’s 3rd Prayer. — That upon the pleadings and evidence in this case the plaintiff is not entitled to recover, because, it appears from the uncontradicted evidence offered on behalf of the plaintiff, that the insured did not within sixty days after the fire, nor at any time thereafter, render to the defendant a statement setting forth what, if any, merchandise, dry goods, ladies’ ready-made clothing or materials used in the business of the insured, contained in the building situate at number thirty-two South Paca street, Baltimore, Maryland, were damaged or destroyed by the fire mentioned in the evidence, and give the cash value of each item thereof and the amount of loss thereon, as by the terms of the policy offered in evidence the insured were required to do, although it appears from the uncontradicted evidence offered on behalf of the plaintiff, that such statement was duly demanded by the defendant, and the plaintiff after the fire had in his possession his books of account showing all purchases of merchandise made by said insured prior to said fire, and all sales made by said insured prior to said fire, and their verdict must be for the defendant. (Rejected). Defendant's 4th Prayer. — That upon the pleadings and evidence in this case the plaintiff is not entitled to recover,' because there is no evidence in this case legally sufficient to enable the jury to find what merchandise, dry goods, ladies’ ready-made clothing and materials used in the business of the insured were contained in the building situate No. 32 South Paca street, Baltimore, Maryland, at the time of the fire mentioned in the evidence, which were damaged or destroyed by said fire, and their verdict must be for the defendant. (Rejected). Defendant’s 5th Prayer. — That upon the pleadings and evidence in this case the plaintiff is not entitled to recover, because there is no evidence in this case legally sufficient to enable the jury to find what amount, if any, of loss or damage to merchandise generally consisting particularly of stock of dry goods, ladies’ ready-made clothing and all materials used in the insured business as manufacturers, contained in the six-story brick building situate No. 32 South Paca street, Baltimore, Maryland, was suffered by the insured by reason of the fire mentioned in the evidence, and their verdict must be for the defendant. (Rejected). - Defendant's 6th Prayer. — Inasmuch as the uncontradicted evidence shows that the plaintiff submitted to an examination under oath under the terms of the policy by a person named by the defendant company, that the plaintiff has wholly failed to subscribe said examination as he was required to do by the conditions of the policy, and inasmuch as the performance of the condition of said policy is by the terms of the policy made a condition precedent to the bringing suit on the policy, the jury are instructed that this suit is prematurely brought and their verdict must be for the defendant. (Rejected). Defendant's Jth Prayer. — Inasmuch as the uncontradicted evidence shows that the plaintiff did not furnish a copy of all the descriptions and schedules in all policies as he was required to do under the terms of the policy sued on, and inasmuch as the evidence shows that such description and schedules were duly demanded by the defendant, the jury are instructed that their verdict must be for the defendant. (Rejected). And the defendant at the time of the offering of the plaintiff’s prayers and before they were granted, filed the following written exceptions thereto: Defendant specially excepts to the plaintiff s first prayer, for the reason that there is no evidence from which the jury can find that the property described in the policy offered in evidence and thereby insured, was, as alleged in said prayer, totally destroyed by fire on or about December 2d, 1893 ; or that the plaintiff did furnish proofs of loss, so far as it was possible for him so to do — or that he furnished, so far as it was possible for him to do, the cash value of each item and the amount of loss thereon. Defendant specially excepts to plaintiff’s fourth prayer, for the reason that there is no evidence to show the actual cash value of the whole property destroyed, nor any evidence from which the jury can find that the whole loss of the plaintiff exceeded the amount of the insurance upon said property described in the seventeen companies referred to in the evidence. And the Court granted all the prayers offered by the plaintiff, and rejected all the prayers offered by the defendant, and the Court, of its own motion, granted the following instruction of its own : The jury are instructed, if their verdict should be for the plaintiff, that they are not to consider any statements contained in the proofs of loss as evidence of the fact or extent of the plaintiff’s loss, but such fact and the extent of loss must be ascertained from the other evidence in the case. The jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff for $5,554.16.

Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.

Opinion of the Court — Roberts

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

Roberts, J.,

delivered the opinion of the Court.

This suit was brought to recover on a policy of insurance against loss by fire. The policy was written by the appellant in favor of D. Langfeld & Co., who were engaged in the business of manufacturing ladies’ clothing. The property insured is described in the policy in these words :

“ $5,000 on merchandise, consisting principally of dry goods and ladies’ ready-made clothing, and on all materials used in their business as manufacturers of same, their own, or held in trust or consignment, or commission or sold, but not removed while contained in the brick building situate No. 32 S. Paca street, Baltimore, Md., communicating through fire-proof boiler house in basement with No. 34 S. Paca st., opening protected by fire-doors.”

In addition to this policy there were risks written by sixteen other companies on the same stock, the aggregate of the sixteen policies being forty thousand dollars. The usual conditions were annexed to and formed parts of the policy. A fire occurred on December the second, 1893, within the period of time covered by the policy sued on, and the entire stock and machinery of the assured as well as most of their *280 books were totally destroyed. Proof of loss was furnished, but was objected to as insufficient; and upon this and other grounds to be stated presently the insurer refused to pay the loss and thereafter this suit was brought. The refusal of the appellant to pay the amount of the loss insured against in the policy issued by it is founded on several grounds which may be briefly summarized as follows, viz., that the proof of loss was not sufficient in that it did not contain a statement in detail of the stock and materials on hand at the time of the fire, nor set forth the cash value of each item thereof and the extent to which each article was damaged ; that the assured had not furnished, as required by the policy, within sixty days after the loss, a copy of the descriptions and schedules in other policies written upon the same property; that the assured refused to subscribe an examination taken by a person designated and appointed by the insurer ; and that notwithstanding a difference arose between the assured and the insurer respecting the amount of the loss sustained by the former, the assured refused to enter into an appraisement as provided for in the policy, in such a contingency, although a demand was made for such appraisal by the underwriter.

During the progress of the trial six bills of exception were taken and they present the questions to be disposed of on this appeal. Under the rulings and instructions of the Superior Court the jury rendered a verdict in favor of the assured for the full amount claimed to be due by the terms of the policy and upon that verdict a judgment was duly entered. From that judgment the insurance company has prosecuted the pending appeal.

There was no dispute respecting the execution and delivery of the policy, the payment of the exacted premium and the subsequent loss and destruction of whatever property was on the premises when the fire occurred. Nor was there any denial that the loss, if a loss was sustained at all, was a total and complete one. The controverted question at the threshold was, whether there was sufficient evidence *281 to show that any of the materials described in the policy were in fact destroyed by the fire. The first, second and third exceptions and the appellants’ fourth and fifth prayers in the sixth exception involve this inquiry, and may be considered and discussed together, because upon the correctness of the rulings on the objections set forth in the first three exceptions depends the propriety of the Court’s action in rejecting the two prayers just designated by their numbers.

We have said that most of the appellee’s books were destroyed in the fire. The only ones saved were the sales’ book, or the day book, showing the amount of daily sales ; the purchase book, showing the amount of merchandise bought from January xst, 1893, up to the time of the fire; and the book of expenditures, showing the amount paid out in manufacturing between the same dates. Now, it is obvious, that to entitle the assured to recover it was incumbent on him to show to the satisfaction of the jury, first, that he had sustained a loss by fire; and, secondly, what the amount of that loss was — not with exact mathematical precision, but with a reasonable measure of certainty. Confessedly all that he had on the premises described in the policy was destroyed ; his most valuable and important books had been burned, and there is no pretence that from mere memoiy he could possibly have stated the quantity or description of a stock of goods, such as it is apparent, he carried. But his inability to do this, arising, as it clearly does, from the very misfortune against whose disasters the appellants wrote the insurance, can scarcely, in a Court of justice, be considered a valid and sufficient ground to defeat his claims for indemnity. Deprived by the casualty which the policy was designed to reimburse him for, of the best means to compute the precise amount of his loss, by no means precluded him from resorting to other, even if less satisfactory methods of laying that branch of his case before the jury. And to other methods he did resort. He showed most incontestibly that the amount of *282 stock which he had on hand the first day of January, 1893, was $22,131.46. He then showed by his book of purchases that from that date to the day of the fire he had bought $107,821.00 worth of materials, and by one of his other books saved from the fire, that the cost paid for manufacturing during the same period had been $35,311.04, making a grand total of $165,263.50. He likewise demonstrated from his day book, or book of sales, that his sales during the same period had been $169,215.25, and that the average or usual profit included in this gross amount of sales was forty per cent., or $48,347.00, which on being deducted from the gross amount of sales showed the cost value of the manufactured articles sold to be $120,868.25, and that sum being deducted from $165,263.50 — the aggregate of the inventory, the merchandise bought and the cost of manufacture — left the sum of $44,395.25 as the value of .the goods and materials in stock when the fire occurred. This process is the one objected to in the exceptions now being considered. Without pausing to consider the specific questions objected to, because such a course is wholly unnecessary, we deem it only necessary to say that there was no error in allowing the questions to be asked which elicited this result. Brit a single observation is all that is needed to illustrate‘ the correctness of this conclusion. Were this method of ascertaining the value of the goods destroyed excluded, there would be no possible way in the event of a total loss of the goods themselves and the books of the assured, to arrive at even an approximate estimate of the amount of the loss, for it is not to be assumed that in a large business establishment either the proprietor or his employees can carry in their minds a schedule of the stock in trade. And if the method of proof allowed by the Court below were excluded, then, in the case supposed (which is, in fact, the case at bar), no proof could be adduced at all; and it would follow that the more complete and disastrous the conflagration the less would be the liability of the insurer. A ruling leading to such a con *283 elusion is obviously illogical and untenable. We find, therefore, no error in the rulings set forth in the first, second and third exceptions and in the rejection of the appellants’ fourth and fifth prayers.

The question presented by the fourth exception arose in this way : The conditions annexed to the policy provide, amongst other things, that “ the insured, as often as required, shall submit to examinations under oath by any person named by this company, and subscribe the same, &c.” On March 5th, 1894, Mr. Thomas E. Bond, adjuster, required the appellee to submit to an examination under oath. No authority from the company to Mr. Bond to make the examination was shown the appellee, but he nevertheless did undergo an examination, which was taken down by a stenographer, and he states he produced what books he had. He further testifies that Mr. Bond never asked him to sign the examination, and that he did not sign it because as taken down it was full of errors. He likewise stated that he was -not asked to sign it. He was then asked whether Mr. Bond ever refused to let him, the appellee, correct the statement. The question was objected to, the Court sustained the objection, and hence the fourth exception. The question was irrelevant. It did not appear that Mr. Bond had been appointed by the company to make the examination, and the appellee was under no obligation to submit to or to sign an examination until he had been informed that some person had, in the language of the policy, been “named by ” the company to make it; and whether Mr. Bond refused to let the appellee correct errors in the stenographic report of the examination was under the circumstances wholly immaterial as respects the liability of the company. If the company desired the statement signed it should have demanded that the appellee sign it. The mere fact that Mr. Bond did not refuse to correct any errors in the copy was no evidence that the company either exacted or insisted on the signature. It literally proved nothing.

*284 The fifth exception also presents a question of the admissibility of evidence. Listner was the adjuster for the appellee ; he made out the proof of loss and was present at the examination alluded to in discussing the preceding exceptions. Mr. Bond testified that he had given a copy of the examination to Listner, and he was then asked, “What did you say to Mr. Listner at the time you gave him the copy of the deposition of Mr. Keene,” the appellee? An objection was made which the Court sustained and this ruling is the one complained of in the fifth exception. Clearly there was no error in this ruling. Nothing that Mr. Bond said to Mr. Listner could affect in any way the rights of the appellee. There is no pretence that Listner had any authority to bind the appellee. Listner was the appellee’s adjuster, and any declaration made by Bond to him’ about a totally different subject, viz., the written examination of the appellee, could not possibly bind the appellee. The proffered evidence was wholly irrelevant.

The remaining exception relates to the prayers. The appellant presented seven, all of which were rejected. The appellee offered four, the first, second and fourth of which were granted, the third not being in the record; and the learned Judge of the Superior Court gave an instruction of his own. The appellant filed special exceptions to the granting of the appellee’s first and fourth prayers. We find no errors in the granted prayers. The first prayer asks the Court to instruct the jury, that if they find from the evidence that the defendant made the policy of insurance offered in evidence, and delivered the same to the plaintiff; and further find that the property described in said policy was totally destroyed by fire, on or about the second day of December, 1893 ; and that the defendant had notice of the fire at the time thereof, and that the plaintiff furnished the proofs of loss referred to in the evidence, together with the certificate of the magistrate, and furnished, so far as it was possible for him so to do, an inventory of the property destroyed, stating the quantity and cost of each article and the amount *285 claimed thereon; and furnished so far as it was possible for him so to do, the cash value of each item and the amount of loss thereon; and also furnished the copy of all the descriptions and schedules in all the policies, then the plaintiff is entitled to recover. This prayer is clearly sound if supported by the evidence ; and we think the evidence alluded to in considering the first, second and third exceptions was quite sufficient to goto the jury, and if believed by them, to support the hypothesis of the instruction. ( 50 Md. 193 ). The second instruction is not open to criticism. There was evidence, if credited, to support the facts, hypothetically submitted, and if the jury found those facts, then obviously the failure of the appellee to sign the examination heretofore mentioned furnished no reason for the refusal of the appellant to pay the loss. The fourth prayer is not obnoxious to the special exception filed to it for the same reason we have given in disposing of the special exception to the first prayer. The legal principle it announces is sound, and is that generally applied in estimating damages in such cases as this and in apportioning them amongst contributing companies.

• The first, second and third prayers of the appellant were properly rejected. They relate to the proof of loss and its legal sufficiency. The proof of loss furnished in this case— a case of total loss — was under the circumstances all that could have been required. These prayers exacting a more detailed proof were consequently erroneous. The sixth prayer being the converse of the appellee’s second and the latter being right, the former must be wrong. The seventh prayer asserts that the appellee did not furnish a copy of all the descriptions and schedules in all policies as he was required to do under the terms of the policy sued on, and inasmuch as the evidence shows that such description and schedules were duly demanded by the defendant, the verdict of the jury must be for the defendant. But the evidence does not justify the assumption of facts contained in this prayer. The proof of loss distinctly gave the names of the other six *286 teen companies having policies on this property. It gave the numbers of these policies, the amounts covered by each and the dates of their respective expiration ; and it expressly stated that “ full copies of the written portions of all other policies and endorsements, transfers and assignments are hereto annexed, or will be furnished on demand.” The requirement was substantially complied with. The written portion of the policy sued on was set out and, as stated, the names of the other companies holding policies on the same property, a statement of the respective amounts and of the dates showing that they were concurrent with the policy in suit, constituted a substantial compliance with the condition relied on in the seventh prayer. (Jones v. Howard Ins. Co., 22 Northeastern Rep. 578; Keeney v. Ins. Co., 71 N. Y. 396 ). The Court’s instruction was clearly right under the case of Citizens’ Fire Ins. Co. v. Doll, 35 Md. 103 . Finding no errors the judgment will be affirmed with costs above and below.

(Decided March 31st, 1897).

Judgment affirmed with costs above and below.

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1908: 11910: 11915: 11930: 11999: 119082026peak 1908 · 1

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 3

DepthCaseCited by
Keeney v. Home Ins. Co., 71 N.Y. 396 (1877) 58
Citizens' Fire Ins. v. Doll, 35 Md. 89 (1872) 50
Farmers' Fire Ins. v. Mispelhorn, 50 Md. 180 (1878) 9

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list