TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Lebroke v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Insurance

Gretchen Lebroke & a. v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Insurance Company

Lebroke v. United States Fid. & Guar. Ins., 769 A.2d 392 (N.H. 2001)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
Supreme Court of New Hampshire · State Highest Courts
Decided
April 4, 2001
Docket
No. 99-229
Judges
Broderick, Dalian, Groff, Horton, Nadeau, Rsa
Citations
769 A.2d 392146 N.H. 2492001 N.H. LEXIS 62

Opinion of the Court — Nadeau

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

NADEAU, J.

The defendant, United States Fidelity & Guaranty Insurance Company appeals the order of the Superior Court (.Fauver, J.), granting partial summary judgment to the plaintiffs, Gretchen Lebroke and Vermont Mutual Insurance Company (Vermont Mutual). The court ruled that the defendant’s automobile insurance policy covers liability arising from a dog bite sustained by the intervenor, Judy Rigmont, while she was loading brochures into an automobile. We reverse.

We briefly review the facts and procedural history. On March 3, 1996, Lebroke’s dog bit Rigmont while she was attempting to load brochures into Lebroke’s automobile. At that time, Lebroke was covered by a personal automobile insurance policy issued by the defendant and a homeowner’s policy issued by Vermont Mutual.

Rigmont sued Lebroke. Vermont Mutual defended Lebroke in that suit, which was eventually settled. Subsequently Vermont Mutual and Lebroke filed this declaratory judgment action, seeking indemnification from the defendant. Both parties moved for sum *250 mary judgment on whether the defendant’s automobile insurance policy covered the March 3, 1996 incident. After the superior court granted partial summary judgment in favor of the plaintiffs, this appeal followed.

In reviewing the grant of summary judgment, we consider the affidavits and pleadings in the light most favorable to the non-moving party. See Weaver v. Royal Ins. Co. of America, 140 N.H. 780, 781 (1996). If there is no genuine issue of material fact, and if the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law, the grant of summary judgment is affirmed. Id.

“The interpretation of terms in insurance policies is a question of law for this court to determine.” Akerley v. Hartford Ins. Co., 136 N.H. 433, 439 (1992). In determining the terms of a policy, “we take the plain and ordinary meaning of the policy’s words in context, and we construe the terms of the policy as would a reasonable person in the position of the insured based on more than a casual reading of the policy as a whole.” Whitcomb v. Peerless Ins. Co., 141 N.H. 149, 150 (1996) (quotations and brackets omitted).

The policy provides: “We will pay damages for ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage’ for which any ‘insured’ becomes legally responsible because of an auto accident.” This policy, therefore, only provides coverage if the injury or damage arises from an “auto accident.” “Auto accident” is undefined in the policy.

Until now, we have declined to define “auto accident.” See, e.g., Akerley, 136 N.H. at 438 . In the context of homeowner liability policies, we broadly define “accident” as “an undesigned contingency, ... a happening by chance, something out of the usual course of things, unusual, fortuitous, not anticipated, and not naturally to be expected.” Vermont Mut. Ins. Co. v. Malcolm, 128 N.H. 521, 523 (1986) (quotations omitted). Of course, the modifier “auto” limits this definition.

One court, applying the test of whether the “average person” would consider a stabbing that occurred in the insured automobile to be an “automobile accident,” concluded that “the average person would probably say only that [the insured] was stabbed while sitting in his automobile” and therefore denied coverage. See Farmers Ins. Co. of Washington v. Grelis, 718 P.2d 812, 813 (Wash. Ct. App. 1986).

In a case factually similar to the one at bar, a Texas court narrowed the definition of “auto accident” to require, at the very least, the involvement of an automobile. See State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. v. Peck, 900 S.W.2d 910, 913 (Tex. App. 1995); see also Farmers Texas County Mut. Ins. Co. v. Griffin, 955 S.W.2d 81, 83 (Tex. 1997). *251 That court concluded that a dog biting an automobile passenger while the car was in motion was not an “auto accident.” Id. We find this analysis persuasive and conclude the dog bite in this case cannot be considered an “auto accident.”

Accordingly, we reverse the decision of the superior court.

Reversed.

BRODERICK and DALIAN1S, JJ., concurred; HORTON, J., retired, and GROFF, j., superior court justice, specially assigned under RSA 490:3, concurred.

How later courts describe this case

Explanatory parentheticals written by citing courts — 2 in all; the most informative distinct ones are shown.

2002: 12004: 12005: 12006: 12012: 12015: 120022026peak 2002 · 1

Relies on it most ⓘ

  1. Wilson v. Progressive Northern Insurance868 A.2d 268 (N.H. 2005)
  2. Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. v. Sturrock146 S.W.3d 123 (Tex. 2004)
  3. Kelly v. Prudential Property & Casualty Insurance796 A.2d 156 (N.H. 2002)
  4. American Underwriters Insurance v. Drummond230 S.W.3d 320 (Ark. Ct. App. 2006)
  5. Chatman v. STRAFFORD COUNTY42 A.3d 853 (N.H. 2012)
  6. Crosby v. Strafford Cty. DOC2014 DNH 100 (D.N.H. 2015)

Most recent

  1. Crosby v. Strafford Cty. DOC2014 DNH 100 (D.N.H. 2015)
  2. Chatman v. STRAFFORD COUNTY42 A.3d 853 (N.H. 2012)
  3. American Underwriters Insurance v. Drummond230 S.W.3d 320 (Ark. Ct. App. 2006)
  4. Wilson v. Progressive Northern Insurance868 A.2d 268 (N.H. 2005)
  5. Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. v. Sturrock146 S.W.3d 123 (Tex. 2004)
  6. Kelly v. Prudential Property & Casualty Insurance796 A.2d 156 (N.H. 2002)

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 7

DepthCaseCited by
Farmers Tex. Cnty. Mut. Ins. v. Griffin, 955 S.W.2d 81 (Tex. 1997) 346
Weaver v. Royal Ins. Co. of Am., 674 A.2d 975 (N.H. 1996) 38
Akerley v. Hartford Ins. Group, 616 A.2d 511 (N.H. 1992) 25
Vt. Mut. Ins. v. Malcolm, 517 A.2d 800 (N.H. 1986) 96
Farmers Ins. v. Grelis, 718 P.2d 812 (Wash. Ct. App. 1986) 16
State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. v. Peck, 900 S.W.2d 910 (Tex. App.—Amarillo 1995) 16
Whitcomb v. Peerless Ins., 679 A.2d 575 (N.H. 1996) 11

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list