TaiLexi AI U.S. Case Law

Stebbins v. Globe Insurance

Charles Stebbins versus The Globe Insurance Company

Stebbins v. Globe Ins., 2 Hall 632 (1829)
Download
Format
Include

Star paging (*137) is kept for pin cites.

Court
The Superior Court of New York City · State Trial Courts
Decided
December 15, 1829
Judges
Oakley
Citations
2 Hall 632
Headnotes
A representation as to the situation of buildings to be insured, in relation to other contiguous buildings, made by the assured at the time of his application for insurance, does not amount to a warranty that such buildings are, or that they shall remain, during the continuance of the risk, in the situation described by the representation, unless such representation appear upon the face of the policy-If, upon an application for insurance, the assured describe the premises to bo insured, by a diagram or otherwise, and represent the ground contiguous to such premises as “ vacant,” such representation does not amount to a warranty that the contiguous ground shall remain vacant during the continuance of the risk; neither is the assured prevented from building upon such vacant ground, by any prohibition in the policy, express or implied. A fraudulent concealment of circumstances material to the risk, will vitiate the policy ; and the assured cannot recover in any case, where the loss is occasioned by his own fraudulent, improper, or negligent acts. Evidence as to a usage existing at New-York, that upon the occurring of any circumstance, whereby the risk is increased by the act of the assured, after the effecting of the insurance, notice thereof shall be given to the assurers, so that they may have the option of continuing the policy, or annulling it, cannot be received to alter the legal effect or operation of the contract.
Summary
This was an action upon a policy of insurance against fire. The policy bore date the 5th of January, 1827, and by it, the plaintiff was insured by the defendants to the amount of $1750, for one year, (commencing on the 10th day of December, 1826,) " on a frame building, in three tenements, situated on the corner “ of New-York Wharf and Commerce-street, in the city of Mo- “ bile, privileged to contain hazardous goods, per report No. “ 36,748, filed in the Washington Office.” The cause was tried before Mr. Justice Oakley. At the trial, it was proved that the premises insured were totally destroyed by fire in the month of October, 1827; and there was no controversy as to the interest of the plaintiff, or the sufficiency of his preliminary proofs. The company set up, as their defence, the breach of a warranty implied in the policy, (as they contended,) on the part of the plaintiff, that he would not, during the continuance of the risk, erect any building upon certain vacant ground, contiguous to the premises insured. They therefore introduced the plaintiff’s application for insurance as evidence, which bore date at Mobile, the 23d of November, 1826. This application was contained a letter addressed by the plaintiff to his correspondents in New-York, wherein he requested them to effect insurance in his behalf, to the amount of $3500, for twelve months, on his store, “ situated on the corner of Commerce-street and New-York “ Wharf;” and, for particulars, they were referred to a diagram annexed to the letter. By this diagram, it appeared, that Commerce-street was formed of planks projecting over the water, and the premises insured lay upon the corner of a Square comprehended between Commerce-street, Alabama-street, Water-street, and New-York Wharf. Immediately adjoining the premises insured, were two other stores, and these three occupied the whole space fronting onCommerce-street, which intervened between New-York Wharf and Alabama-street. The space in the rear of these stores, and between them and Water-street, was marked on the diagram as “ vacant,’’ and there was also an alley-way near to Water-street, marked out on the same vacant space, as extending from Alabama-street to New-York Wharf; and the word “ vacant” was placed on the diagram between the premises insured and the alley. After exhibiting this diagram the defendants offered to prove, that after the insurance was effected, and during the continuance of the risk, the plaintiff had erected other buildings immediately contiguous to the premises insured, and that the risk was thereby increased. To the admission of this evidence, the counsel for the plaintiff objected, upon the ground, that it did not constitute any defence to the action. The Judge decided that the evidence was not admissible, unless the defendants also meant to show that the plaintiff intended, at the time of effecting the policy, to build upon the vacant ground, and concealed that intention from the defendants; or unless they could show that the fire originated in, or was occasioned by, the adjacent buildings so erected. To this decision the counsel for the defendants excepted. The defendants then introduced evidence, which tended, in some degree, to show, that at the time the policy was effected, there were other buildings on the square besides those designated on the diagram, or at least upon that part of it lying between the alley-way and Water-street; and it clearly appeared that the or th® plaintiff and other persons, had erected buildings, near to the premises insured, on the vacant ground, after the policy was effected, and during the continuance of the risk. The defendants then offered also to prove, that there existed a usage at New-York, whereby the insured was bound to give notice to the insurers of any act done by himself after effecting the policy, which increased the risk; and that by such usage, the insurers had the privilege of continuing the policy after the notice, or of abandoning, it at their option. To the introduction of this evidence, the plaintiff objected, and it was overruled by the presiding Judge. To this decision, the defendants also excepted. There was no evidence offered to show that the fire, which destroyed the plaintiff’s store, originated in the buildings erected on the ground which was vacant, when the policy was made; neither did it appear that the fire approached the premises insured, through the medium of the new buildings.* Upon this evidence, the Judge charged the jury, that the representation made by the plaintiff, as to the situation of the premises insured, in relation to other contiguous buildings, did not amount to a warranty that the ground, designated as “ vacant,” should be kept so during the continuance of the risk; and that the erection of other buildings by the plaintiff, after the date of the policy, on the vacant ground, did not vitiate' the policy, unless the intention to erect such buildings existed in the mind of the plaintiff at the time he effected the insurance. That in such case, there would be a fraudulent concealment, on his part, of a fact material to the risk; but that the burthen of proving such fraud, rested upon the defendants. The Judge also instructed the jury, that they were to find whether the representation made by the plaintiff to the defendants as to the situation of his store, in reference to other contiguous buildings, was true in point of fact: and if not true, whether the difference between the actual and the represented situation of the building materially enhanced the risk at the time the policy was effected. That if the representation was untrue in fact, still that their verdict would be for the plaintiff, unless the risk was materially increased by the actual situation of the store, in relation to the other buildings, or unless the plaintiff had concealed such actual situation with a fraudulent design. The Judge also further charged the jury, that as the word " contiguous,” when applied to buildings, was uncertain and indefinite, they must give it such a meaning as they supposed was intended by the parties. That the proof on the part of the defendants, as to the existence of other buildings between the alley-way and Commerce-street, besides those designated on the diagram, was vague and uncertain; but if the jury were satisfied that such buildings were placed upon the ground assumed to be vacant, they were then to determine whether the risk was materially enhanced by such buildings. The jury were also charged that they were to determine whether the plaintiff’s representation, as to the vacant ground in the rear of the buildings on Commerce-street, extended to Water-street, or only to the alley, leading from Alabama-street to New-York Wharf. That on this point the parties differed, and the jury, therefore, were to draw their own conclusions from the facts; if they supposed the representation extended to Water-street, then they were to determine whether the buildings on that street were so contiguous to the property insured, as to affect the risk. The jury found ¿ verdict for the plaintiff, under an arrangement between the parties, that the defendants should have leave to make a case, and turn the same into a bill of exceptions on the points of law raised at the trial.

Syllabus and headnotes are prepared by the reporter or publisher, not the court, and are not part of the opinion.

Opinion of the Court — Oakley

Text extracted by OCR from a scanned original; check the original for exact wording.

Oakley, J.

This is an action on a fire policy, dated January the 5th, A. D. 1827. The property insured is described in the policy, as “a framed building in three tenements, situate on the “corner of New-York Wharf and Commerce-street, in the city of " Mobile, privileged to contain hazardous goods, per report No. " 36,748, filed in the Washington Office” The application for insurance, bears date at Mobile, on the 23d of Nov. 1826, and gives a description of the premises to be insured; and, with a view to point out their situation with respect to contiguous buildings, there is subjoined to, or inserted in the application, a map or diagram, on which the store of the plaintiff is marked out, and also two stores adjoining thereto; and in the rear of the whole, the word “ vacant” is written. The New-York Wharf and Commerce-street, mentioned in the policy, are laid down on the diagram, and also two other streets, called Alabama-street and Water-street, forming in the whole a square, or parallelogram. The plan or map contains no building except the three stores abovementioned,—all of which front on Commerce-street.

At the trial, the defendants offered to prove, that subsequently to the insurance, the plaintiff had erected other buildings, immediately contiguous to the store insured, and on the ground represented as vacant, and that the risk of loss was thereby increased. The Judge rejected the evidence, unless the defendants meant to show that the intention of the plaintiff, at the time of effecting the insurance, was to erect these buildings, and that he had concealed that intention, or that the fire was occasioned by, or originated in the adjacent buildings so erected. To this decision of the Judge, the defendants excepted, and the first and principal question arising in this case is, whether the fact offered to be proved, would have avoided the policy.

It is contended, in the first place, that the application for insurance with the diagram, being referred to in the policy as a report on file in the Washington Office, is thereby incorporated in *646 it, and is a warranty, not only that the ground marked on the diagram as vacant, was really so at the time, but that it should continue vacant during the running of the policy, and that the subsequent erection of any building, by the plaintiff, on such vacant ground, was a breach of the warranty.

It would be a sufficient answer to this position, to say, that there is no evidence in the case, showing that the application for insurance, is the report which the policy refers to. But as it seems to have been so considered at the trial, it is proper to assume the fact to be so, for the purposes of the present discussion.

In the case of Delonguemare v. The Tradesmens' Ins. Co. (ante, p. 580,) we had occasion to consider how far a general reference in a policy to a description of the insured property, on file in the office of the assurers, constituted that description a part of the contract, and converted it into a warranty; and the conclusion arrived at was, that no representation ought to be held to be a warranty, except it -appeared on the face of the policy. The principles which led to that result, in that case, apply with greater force to the present; as the reference here, to the description of the premises, is less distinct and precise.

It is contended, in the second place, that the description of .the vacant ground adjacent to the insured premises, whether •considered as a warranty or a representation, was binding on the plaintiff, during the continuance of the policy; and that he had no right to erect buildings on such vacant ground, especially if such erections increased the risk.

It is clear, that there is no express prohibition in the policy against the erection of new buildings, contiguous to those insured; and it is difficult to see on what ground any such prohibition can be implied. The defendants have, by the terms of the policy, guarded against an increase of the risk, by an appropriation of the building insured to any hazardous business, or to the storing of hazardous goods not specially authorized, by suspending the policy during the continuance of the increased risk. They have not thought proper to introduce any such stipulation with respect to an increase of the risk, by the erection of adjacent *647 buildings ; and it would be unreasonable to imply a prohibition of so important a character, when the party has omitted to express it.

Although the policy, in my judgment, is not rendered void by the subsequent erection of buildings adjacent to those insured, it by no means follows, that the insurers are compelled to bear any loss, which may be the result of such an act on the part of the assured. The contract of insurance, has its foundation in the mutual good faith of the parties. If the assured violates that good faith, in any circumstance entering into the creation of the contract, it is no doubt void. But if, subsequently to its formation, he acts with fraud, or gross negligence, or in bad faith, with respect to the subject matter insured, his rights, under the contract are not impaired, unless the loss, which he seeks to recover, is the result of his own misconduct. It is a general principle, that no man can derive a right of action against another, from his own violation of duty, or from his own illegal acts. Thus there is no stipulation in this policy, that the assured shall not set fire to the buildings insured. If he had done so, hé could not recover the loss, on the ground, not that he had violated any stipulation in the contract, but that he could not profit by the consequences of his own illegal or fraudulent acts. If, however, he had set fire to an adjoining building with the intent to consume the one insured, but no injury to that had in fact ensued, it could not have been contended, that the policy was thereby rendered void; notwithstanding the act would have been in the highest degree a violation of the good faith which was pledged to the insurers, that the risk should not be increased by any act of the assured.

An erection of buildings on vacant ground, by the assured, subsequently to the policy, and contiguous to those insured, whereby the risk is increased, stands upon the same principle. If buildings thus erected, should be removed before the occurrence of any loss, it could not be maintained that the policy would be thereby annulled. The act, not being in violation of any express stipulation in the policy, and not resulting in any actual injury to the insurers, the law would regard it as harmless and rightful; *648 and if this be so, it seems clearly to follow, that the continuance of such erections, (as in the case now before us,) until the fire; cannot change the legal consequences of the act of erecting them, if they have in no way been the cause of the loss. The act of the assured in erecting them, may have been a breach of an implied understanding between the parties, that the situation of the insured premises, with respect to the contiguous buildings, should not be changed by the act of the assured so as to increase the risk; but if such increase of risk, has in fact, been without injury to the defendants, I hold that the policy is not affected by it.

Upon this view of the case I ruled at the trial, that evidence of the erection of buildings, by the assured, on the ground represented as vacant was immaterial, unless the defendants could show, that the fire which caused the loss originated in the buildings thus erected, or was communicated by them to the insured premises. The application of this principle to the case, seems to me to preserve unimpaired the rights of all the parties. The policy continues binding on the defendants, as to the risks, fairly assumed, while they cannot suffer from the acts of the plaintiff, by which those risks are alleged to have been increased. I think, therefore, that there was no error in the decision of the Judge, in excluding the evidence offered by the defendants on this point.

The defendants also offered to prove, that it is the usage at New-Tork, in case of the occurrence of any circumstance by the act of the assured, after effecting the insurance, whereby the risk is increased, for the assured to give notice thereof to the insurer, who is then to have the option of continuing the policy, or of annulling it. This evidence was also rejected by the Judge. It is contended by the defendants, that there was error in this respect also.

This evidence, it still appears to me, was properly rejected, on two grounds, 1st, that the usage offered to be proved was a local one, applying only to insurances on property, in the city of New-York; and 2dly, that if it were a general usage, it could not be given in evidence, to alter the legal operation and effect of the policy. It was not offered to explain the meaning, or extent of any stipulation expressed in the contract, but with a view to introduce into it, an entirely new and distinct condition.

*649 The Judge also left it to the jury to decide, how far the plaintiff’s representation by the diagram, of the vacant ground in the rear of the insured premises extended, whether to Water-street, or to an alley dividing the lots fronting on Water-street, from those fronting on Commerce-street, which alley was laid down on the said diagram. The defendants now contend, that this was matter of law, and should have been determined by the court. As a general rule, the construction of written documents offered in evidence is matter of law; but in the present instance, that rule does not seem applicable. The effect of the diagram or map in question, could be ascertained only by determining the extent, to which the word “ vacant” was intended to be applied, and this depended on the location of the word on the paper, and by its relative situation with the various streets and alleys laid down on the map. It seemed necessary, therefore, to submit the paper to the inspeetion of the jury; and it was their province to ascertain the facts which were to be inferred from it.

Motion for a new trial denied.

[D. Lord, Att’y for the plff. Ogden and Huggins, Att'ys for the defts.]

How later courts describe this case

No later court has written an explanatory parenthetical about this case yet.

1843–1844: 11851–1852: 11853–1854: 21855–1856: 11857–1858: 11867–1868: 11879–1880: 118432026peak 1853 · 2

Citing references are not a citator: they show that a later opinion cites this case, not whether it followed, distinguished, or overruled it. Check negative history before relying on this case.

Authorities cited 0

No citations to other opinions in this database were found.

Keyboard shortcuts

/Focus the search box
j kNext / previous result
EnterOpen the selected result
xAdd / remove the selected result from the download list
n pNext / previous search term in a case
cCopy the citation of the current case
+ −Larger / smaller reading text
?Show this list